Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review ANATHEMA "Universal"

Veröffentlicht am 5. Oktober 2013 von Markus W. in Anathema, CD Review, Prog Rock

Anathema went through a remarkablehistory. Starting as a doom band with some death metal influences, followed by a phase of gothic metal the band developed into a progressive rock band. What a journey. But the good thing is, that the band always managed to keep and improve the quality of their songs and their music.

In these days the band released their new CD/DVD which is a live album

The recording happened in Phillippopolis and Anathema was supported by the Plovdiv philharmonic orchestra. The result is a beautiful piece of music which is ankered somewehere between Marillion, Coldplay and Fates Warning. Unfortunatley I haven't got the DVD, so I can only refer to the aucoustic experience. The sound of this live album is just great. It creates an ourstanding atmosphere and is really touching. I don't want to talk about certain songs in more spcific since they are all great and it is more the entire concert which is so remarkable.

I think, that rainy autumn days give the right opportunity to dive into this album. If I look into the trailer of the DVD the experience is probabaly even more intense.

Go for it....





1. Untouchable, Part 1
2. Untouchable, Part 2
3. Thin Air
4. Dreaming Light
5. Lightning Song
6. The Storm Before the Calm
7. Everything
8. A Simple Mistake
9. The Beginning and the End
10. Universal
11. Closer
12. A Natural Disaster
13. Deep
14. One Last Goodbye
15. Flying
16. Fragile Dreams


Label: Kscape

Genre: Progressive Rock

CD review ANATHEMA "Universal"