Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review MOTOR CITY MAYHEM "Shitfaced and Outta Luck"

Veröffentlicht am 7. Mai 2018 von Markus W. in Motor City Mayhem, Shitfaced and Outta Luck, Hardrock, Sleaze Rock, News, CD Review, Metalapolis

CD review MOTOR CITY MAYHEM "Shitfaced and Outta Luck"

(8/10) Shotgun Express was a rock band hailing from Stuttgart, Germany. What rose out of the ashes of Shotgun Express is a new rock outfit – Motor City Mayhem.  The five-piece from Mercedes City carries on the legacy of Shotgun Express, sending blues driven hardrock into the world.

Motor City Mayhem, that’s Van on vocals, Scott and Johnny on guitar, Armin handling the four-string guitar and Robin providing the heartbeat with a powerful drumming. These five guys recorded an album that features street rock which is loud and authentic.

Being inspired by bands like MC5 and The Stooges it’s Swedish rock icons like backyard Babies and Gluecifer the added some blueprints for what Motor City Mayhem offers on their debut.

If you want to check out this album by testing some of the tunes you basically can’t chose anything wrong. The longplayer doesn’t include fillers. Each of the ten tracks hits bull’s eye when it comes to power and credibility. It’s a drum roll that kicks of “Hey C’mon” which is the first energetic rock’n’roller on the album. What follows is a 34 minutes firework with “Burn In Hell” being the final cracker. Time flies while listening to “Shitfaced and Outta Luck”.

After spinning “Shitfaced and Outta Luck” several times I must say that I was positively surprised of what reached my ears with this debut. Honest and dirty street rock is what you get. It combines the energy of punk rock with a bluesy hardrock vibe that almost gives you the idea that Stuttgart is in Cali. This record offers good music that is down-to-earth and spot on. In case you’re looking for a soundtrack for your next party, this album should be on your list.





  1. Hey C’mon

  2. The Road

  3. When We Were Kings

  4. Bad Friends

  5. Eat the Rich

  6. Dead City

  7. Outlaws (…On the Run)

  8. Bad Habit

  9. Psycho Ward

  10. Burn in Hell


Label: Metalapolis

Genre: Street Rock

Release Date:  May 25th, 2018