Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review THE CROWN "Cobra Speed Venom"

Veröffentlicht am 18. März 2018 von Markus W. in The Crown, Cobra Speed Venom, Thrash Metal, Death Metal, News, CD Review, Metal Blade

CD review THE CROWN "Cobra Speed Venom"

(8/10) Trollhätten is known for cars since legendary Saab automobiles have/had their roots in the middle of Sweden. But the smaller Swedish city, close to the shore of lake Vänern, has more in the offer than cars only. One of the most important Swedish death metal outfits call Trollhätten their home base.

Crown Of Thorns, founded in 1990, hails from Trollhätten, sending out their death metal sounds into the world since almost 30 years. It was in the early 90’s when five guys got together to work on a first demo that was entitled “When Heaven Gone”. Positive feedback acted as a motivator for working on a debut, which was published in 1995.

In 1997 the band had to change name since glam-pop outfit with the same name forced the Swedes to drop the name, leading to a shortened version for the band's moniker. Sailing from then on under the flag of The Crown, the quintet continued work on deadly riff attacks and deep growls, leading to many more longplayers from then till now.

2018 is the year of The Crown’s next strike, which is a ten song record. The five-piece band teamed up again with Metal Blade for releasing with “Cobra Speed Venom” another terrific noise assault. Death metal aggression, heavy metal roots and rock’n’roll passion characterize the ten songs on this longplayer very well.

From the raging opener (“Destroyed by Madness”) to the closer “The Sign of the Scythe” the band fires on all cylinders. The Crown didn’t come together to record an album full of compromises. It’s the opposite. “Cobra Speed Venom” is a brutal death metal release that feels like a real punch into the face. Enormous riffs guarantee pure firepower, captured in merciless tunes like “Rise in Blood.

One of Sweden’s death metal legends is back with a new album, showcasing a band that is still hungry for extreme metal. The Crown is a real metal engine that comes with far more horsepower than any Saab car ever had.





  1. Destroyed By Madness
  2. Iron Crown
  3. In the Name of Death
  4. We Avenge!
  5. Cobra Speed Venom
  6. World War Machine
  7. Necrohammer
  8. Rise in Blood
  9. Where My Grave Shall Stand
  10. The Sign of the Scythe


Label: Metal Blade Records

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date EU: March 16th, 2018