Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review NIGHTWISH "Decades"

Veröffentlicht am 5. März 2018 von Markus W. in Nightwish, Symphonic Metal, Heavy Metal, New, CD Review, Decades

CD review NIGHTWISH "Decades"

(*/10) Introducing Finnish symphonic rockers of Nightwish feels like carrying sand to the beach. Tuomas Holopainen and band are more than 20 years in business, a good moment to look back on all the band's achievements of two decades.

"Decades" is such a retrospective that covers the years between 1996 and 2015, a "Best of" album that's comes as a 2 CD release. All songs are remastered original versions, providing new fans a brilliant overview of Nightwish's creative milestones. 

A glimpse on the tracklist shows the songs ordered in a chronological way. It's the 24 minutes masterpiece "The Greatest Show on Earth", taken from the latest record "Endless Forms Most Beautiful", that acts as the entry-point for this comprehensive Nightwish album. 

The compilation comprises of all hits, arranged in a 'batting order' that goes from new to old, with a demo version of "Nighwish" being the closer of "Decades". In between, fans find all songs that needs to be on such an album. "Nemo", "Amaranth", "The Kingslayer" and "Wish I Had an Angel", all these classic are present on the tracklist that consists out of 22 songs in total.

The double CD doesn't include any new song or bonus track and it was a conscious decision to not re-record older tracks with Floor and Troy. Nightwish's sticks to their history and heritage and the aim was to transfer it in the most authentic way.

"Decades" is what the title professes. It's a well-done summary of Nightwish's creative work up-to-date and a good release for bridging the wait till the next album will hit the shelves.





  1. The Greatest Show on Earth
  2. Elan
  3. My Walden
  4. Stortime
  5. I Want My Tears Back
  6. Amaranth
  7. The Poet and the Pendulum
  8. Nemo
  9. Wish I Had an Angel
  10. Ghost Love Score
  11. Slaying the Dreamer
  12. End of All Hope
  13. 10th Man Down
  14. The Kingslayer
  15. Dead Boy's Poem
  16. Gethsemane
  17. Devil & The Deep Dark Ocean
  18. Sacrament of Wilderness
  19. Sleeping Sun
  20. Elvenpath
  21. Carpenter
  22. Nightwish (Demo)


Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Symphonic Metal

Release Date EU: March 9th, 2018