Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review EKTOMORF "Fury"

Veröffentlicht am 2. Februar 2018 von Markus W. in Ektomorf, Groove Metal, Thrash Metal, News, CD Review, AFM Records, Fury, Heavy Metal

CD review EKTOMORF "Fury"

(8/10) Ektomorf is the brainchild of Zoltán Farkas who founded the band in 1993. Farkas and Ektomorf didn't only sail on the sunny side of life. The band had to face prejudices and their music was partly described as a copycat of Brazilian thrash pioneers Sepultura and later on Soulfly. 

However, 25 years later Ektomorf is still around, mainly based on Farkas' willpower and a lot of staying power. Mid February 2018 the band will release their new record entitled "Fury". It's Ektomorf's 13th studio album, featuring ten new metal tracks that are loaded with high-octane and groove.

The album title, "Fury", describes pretty well what fans can expect from this album. It's a next grooving chapter in Ektomorf's discography with tunes that are furious and fierce. Not that the band reinvented the wheel with this longplayer. The quartet still focusses on their exciting mix of thrash metal, hardcore and groove, songs that makes you jump.

It's again producer legend Tue Madsen who gave "Fury" an excellent sound that is another factor of continuity. What's new though is the line-up. After a complete change of band members in 2017 it's Szebasztián Simon (Guitar) , Attila Asztalos (Bass), Dániel Szabó (Drums) supporting Farkas on "Fury". It looks very much like the guys found quite some common ground since the album sounds tight and spot-on.

To sum up. New line-up, excellent producer and a typical Ektomorf groove, that is what you get with "Fury" and it's rough times the band went though led them to where they are now, a constant factor in metal that doesn't disappoint with "Fury".





  1. The Prophet of Doom
  2. AK47
  3. Fury
  4. Bullet in Your Head
  5. Faith and Strength
  6. Infernal Warfare
  7. Tears od Christ
  8. Blood For Blood
  9. If You're Willing to Die
  10. Skin Them Alive


Label: AFM Records

Genre: Groove Metal

Release Date EU: February 16th, 2018