Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review IRON MONKEY "9-13"

Veröffentlicht am 24. Oktober 2017 von Markus W. in Iron Monkey, Sludge, Hardcore, Extreme Metal, Punk, News, CD Review, Relapse

CD review IRON MONKEY "9-13"

(8/10) Officially Iron Monkey are categorised as being a sludge metal outfit. But the trio from Nottingham has more to offer. Iron Monkey began in 1994 and finished off a first era in 1999. After 18 years of absence it is 2017 which brings Iron Monkey back to the scene. Being a trip these days the guys worked on the comeback album “9-13” which hit the shelves in October.

Things get started with „Crown of Electrodes“ which is brutal sludge metal killer, unveiling some anarchic sound with the almost insane shouting by frontman Jim Rushby. This guy doesn’t give his vocal ligaments any moment of rest, with the hoarse screams being a substantial element of Iron Monkey‘s sound, regardless what pace the song comes with. Compared to some other stuff on the album the title track i.e. is slower and comes with a mighty groove before „Toadcricifier - R.I.P per“ shifts three gears, being a nasty high-speed smasher.

It‘s those variations in speed and tempo that adds to the positive impression I got from this release, with „The Rope“ entering the fields of slo-mo riffs with a solid doom expression.

What‘s impressive is the nine minutes closer that you might not expect from a sludge band. The guys have enough musical experience to give these nine minutes quite some breaks and twists. Not that the trio deviates from their general pattern. It‘s more the adaption of their own trademarks that adds the dynamic needed for such long closer.

Iron Monkey‘s new longplayer is an uncompromising and menacing piece of music - a furious ravage that is worth some spins.





  1. Crown of Electrodes
  2. OmegaMangler
  3. 9-13
  4. Toadcrucifier - R.I.P.PER
  5. Destroyer
  6. Mortarhex
  7. The Rope
  8. Doomsday Impulse Multiplier
  9. Moreland St. Mahhervortex


Label: Relapse Records

Genre: Sludge

Release Date EU: October 20th, 2017