Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review ALTER BRIDGE "Live From the O2 Arena + Rarities"

Veröffentlicht am 6. September 2017 von Markus W. in Alter Bridge, News, Alternative Metal, Alternative Rock, Hardrock, Live, Napalm Records, CD Review

CD review ALTER BRIDGE "Live From the O2 Arena + Rarities"

(*/10) I think it’s impossible to get a better overview of Alter Bridge’s creative achievements than what is captured on this comprehensive 3-CD package. Not only that this release captures the entire live show that band performed in London’s O2 Arena on November 24th, 2016 – it also comes with a third disc that features special goodies. Two previously unreleased songs ("Cruel Sun” and “Solace”), both coming out of the “One Day Remains”-session will bring some new to the table. “Breathe” is a third song taken from those days, having been a bonus for the Best Buy version for “The Last Hero”. Next to these tracks there are  some more songs on disc number three, all having been Japan-only releases up-to-date.

The two first CD’s, capturing the London show, provide a pretty good overview of Alter Bridge’s discography. “The Last Hero”, as being the band’s latest and extremely successful studio album, got the biggest part on the setlist. But also earlier songs got enough attention. Five tunes from the great “Blackbird” record have been performed that night as well as another four numbers taken from “Fortress, incl. the excellent “Addicted to Pain”.

If you’re a fan of Alter Bridge you will go for this longplayer anyhow and if you’re a fan of rock music who wants to get an idea of what Alter Bridge is about, you can easily close this presonal gap by listening to this well-done live album.






  1. The Writing on the Wall
  2. Come to Life
  3. Addicted to Pain
  4. Ghost of Days Gone By
  5. Cry of Achilles
  6. The Other Side
  7. Farther Than the Sun
  8. Ties That Blind
  9. Water Rising
  10. Crows on a Wire
  11. Watch Over You (solo acoustic)


  1. Isolation
  2. Blackbird
  3. Metalingus
  4. Open Your Eyes
  5. Show Me A Leader
  6. Rise Today
  7. Poison in Your Veins
  8. My Champion


  1. Breathe
  2. Cruel Sun
  3. Solace
  4. New Way To Live
  5. The Damage Done
  6. We Don't Care at All
  7. Zero
  8. Home
  9. Never Borne To Follow
  10. Never Say Die (Outright)
  11. Symphony Of Agony (The Last of Our Kind)        



Label: Napalm Records

Genre: Alternative Metal

Release Date EU: September 8th, 2017