Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review STONE SOUR "Hydrograd"

Veröffentlicht am 20. Juni 2017 von Markus W. in News, CD Review, Stone Sour, Coery Taylor, Modern Metal, Alternative Metal, Alternative Rock, Rock, Punkrock

CD review STONE SOUR "Hydrograd"

(9/10) End of June marks the return of Stone Sour, having a new album right in the starting blocks. The 15 songs containing longplayer is entitled “Hydrograd” and comes via Roadrunner Records.

The bands achievements over the last 1,5 decades is pretty impressive. The group has its roots back in 1992 when Stone Sour was founded by Slipknot frontman Corey Taylor. After some first demos the band went on a hiatus in the late 90’s, just to return with even more powerful in the beginning of the new millennium. The debut “Stone Sour” was the starting point of a success story that’s ongoing up to date. The quintet won the ‘Revolver Golden Gods’ Award as well as they have been nominated three times for the Grammy Award. Their latest release “House of Gold & Bones” dates back to 2012/2013 and was released in two steps, followed four years later by the new smasher “Hydrograd”.

The new album covers a lot of styles and genres. Typical Stone Sour alternative metal melts more and more with rock and traditional heavy metal with even some punk influences that can be found on the new record. The first thing you get to hear is a song/intro called “YSIF” which reminded me party of Faith No More. “Taipei Person – Allah Tea” is the first ‘real’ track’ and it's a tune that comes in the typical Stone Sour fashion. The verse is modern metal-based while the chorus stands for a well implemented melodic counterpart.

Things continue quite heavy with “Knievel Has Landed” while the title track “Hydrograd” puts groove into the center. “Song #3”, which actually song number five on the tracklist, shows some more American punk influences. The tune is one of the first singles releases of the album and looking on the airplay potential I guess it’s a good choice. “Fabuless” is a darker song that’s angry and party depressive, building a good contrast to the before mentioned easy-going “Song #3”.

After those heavy tunes it’s the right moment to break the noise with some partly calmer tones. “The Witness Trees” is such a song. Not being a ballad at all, the track provides a moment to take a deep breath before the up-tempo “Rose Red Violent Blue (This Song is Dumb & So I Am)” and also “Thank God it’s Over” act as the next energizers. However, the album comes with a ballad too. “St Marie” is the silent hymn on “Hydrograd”.

Towards the end of this fantastic longplayer things get harder again. “Whiplash Pants” is a pushing modern metal song and “Friday Knights” unveils an enormous intensity build on a moderate pace. One of the best tracks on the album is the raging “Somebody Stole My Eyes”. This tune is not made for compromises and hits bulls eye. It’s the powerhouse that’s need at the end of a pretty long tracklist and with the closer the silent tones are back. “When the Fever Broke” is an atmospheric song that is touching and intense. This beautiful number rounds off an album that will strengthen Stone Sour’s top-of-the-list position in modern rock and metal music.

Corey Taylor and Co. add another milestone to their impressive discography, showing a band that found their own style, which includes a variation of sounds and elements, all fitting together in an excellent manner, creating this masterpiece.





  1. YSIF
  2. Taipei Person – Allah Tea
  3. Knievel Has Landed
  4. Hydrograd
  5. Song #3
  6. Fabuless
  7. The Witness Trees
  8. Rose Red Violent Blue (This Song is Dumb & So I Am)
  9. Thank God It’s Over
  10. St Marie
  11. Mercy
  12. Whiplash Pants
  13. Friday Knights
  14. Somebody Stole My Eyes
  15. When the Fever Broke


Label: Roadrunner Records

Genre: Alternative Metal

Release Date EU: June 30th, 2017

Photo: Travis Shinn (Promo)

Photo: Travis Shinn (Promo)