Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review PRIMAL FEAR "Angels of Mercy - Live in Germany"

Veröffentlicht am 14. Juni 2017 von Markus W. in Primal Fear, Live, News, CD Review, Melodic Metal, Power Metal, Heavy Metal

CD review PRIMAL FEAR "Angels of Mercy - Live in Germany"

(8/10) German power metal outfit Primal Fear belongs to the Champions League of European metal. It was in the beginning of 12016 when the quintet released their latest strike "Rulebreaker" which was followed by an extensive tour through Europe before embarking to oversea shows in North America, Japan and Australia. One of the shows on this tour was a homegame for Primal Fear, playing a concert in Stuttgart. Primal Fear recorded this show for CD and BluRay/DVD. Base for this review is the audio version. This release is a premier for this German powerhouse since the band never released a live BluRay/DVD earlier in time. Already from this point of view it's a treat for fans who waited for so many years for getting a Primal Fear show right into their living room.

What else to report when it comes to "Angels of Mercy - Live in Germany". The setlist is an excellent choice, including the best Primal Fear's long history in metal with a focus on the new material, captured on an album with a sound that is powerful, authentic and real. Last but not least fans have been loud and enthusiastic as it should be at a homegame.

All in all the metal world can welcome another Primal Fear live album and a DVD as a premier in the band's discography. Good stuff to turn your home into a heavy metal madhouse.





  1. Countdown to Insanity
  2. Final Embrace
  3. In Metal We Trust
  4. Angel in Black
  5. Rulebreaker
  6. Sign of Fear
  7. Seven Seals
  8. Angels of Mercy
  9. The End is Near
  10. Rollercoaster
  11. The Sky is Burning
  12. Nuclear Fire
  13. When Death Comes Knocking
  14. Metal is Forever
  15. Fighting the Darkness


Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: June 2nd, 2017