Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013


Veröffentlicht am 29. Mai 2017 von Markus W. in Peace Of Mind, Hardcore, Punkrock, News, Dead Serious, CD Review

(7/10) Since 2015 Sonnenberg, Germany is the homebase of a new hardcore band - Peace Of Mind. Even though being a rather new player in the field of European hardcore Peace Of Mind played already more than 60 shows an also found some time for an album entitled “MMXVI”. The record features nine songs which are known by fans of the band. These tracks are summary of two EP’s, “Peace Of Mind” and “Gaze Into an Abyss”, and based on a new label, Dead Serious, it might not be a too bad idea to make these songs available for a wider group of fans.

Peace Of Mind’s music is the opposite of the band name suggests. These nine tracks are aggressive hardcore songs build on harsh guitars, well-done shouts and a more than solid groove. This album stands like a rock and will definitely help the band to find new friends and fans.

Next to the more positive there are two things that are more of an issue. Peace Of Mind have their sound and they stick very much to it. This means that most of the tracks are grooving mid-pace ones and it’s hard to distinguish them. It’s a bit too much of the same thing only different. The second thing is that the album is with less than 30 minutes quite short. OK, hardcore doesn’t focus on epically long songs, but a bit more music for the price of a full-length CD wouldn’t have been bad at all, especially considering the fact that the nine songs have faced already an earlier release. One or two new tracks would have been like the peperoni on the pizza.

Anyhow, Peace Of Mind just started their journey and there sits doubtless some potential with the band. Let’s see what the future will bring. For the moment “MMXVI” is a good start for more to come.





  1. Twist of Fate
  2. Misery Loves Company
  3. Gaze Into an Abyss
  4. Stubborn
  5. Cut the Rope
  6. Peace Of Mind
  7. Reclaim the Street
  8. Your Demise
  9. My Pending Decay


Label: Dead Serious

Genre: Hardcore

Release Date EU: April 28th, 2017