Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review DESTRUCTOR "Decibel Casualities"

Veröffentlicht am 1. Juni 2017 von Markus W. in Destructor, Heavy Metal, Power Metal, Thrash Metal, News, Pure Steel Records, CD Review

(8/10) Four albums in 32 aren’t a lot and sounds like world record. Destructor hailing from Cleveland, Ohio is the owner of this unofficial record. The band that started in 1983 released their debut in 1985 but had to suffer of the 90's grunge era. Combined with a missing bass player the guys decided in 1989 to split-up.

The second chapter of Destructor started with the new century. Some first signs of life could be recognized and the second album, "Forever in Leather", followed in 2007. Another nine years later the next power metal strike hit the shelves. It seems like the guys got hungry again with a 4th album that will be released 12 months later. "Decibel Casualties" is the name of the longplayer that features eight metal anthems.

Destructor pushes the pedal to the metal; that's already obvious while listening to the opener "Restore Chaos". This sound brings back memories; times when Metal Church, Hexx and Liege Lord put the metal society into a common state of euphoria.

The album can lead to severe neck issues due to intensive headbanging. Songs like "The Last Days" and "Metal Till Death" are glorious power metal songs, done without frills and decoration, but with a strong punch.

This album is an excellent piece of music that deserves attention.





  1. Restore Chaos
  2. Keep the Faith
  3. Metal Spike Deep
  4. We Are Ready
  5. The Last Days
  6. Firey Winds
  7. Metal Till Death
  8. In Hell


Label: Pure Steel Records

Genre: Power Metal

Release Date EU: June 9th, 2017

CD review DESTRUCTOR "Decibel Casualities"