Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review THE DEAD DAISIES "Live and Louder"

Veröffentlicht am 5. Mai 2017 von Markus W. in The Dead Daisies, Rock, Hardrock, News, CD Review, Sleaze Rock, Classic Rock, Heavy Metal, Live, Steamhammer

(8/10) The ones of you that had the chance of seeing The Dead Daisies live on stage know about the explosive energy the band spreads.  These guys bring the pure essence of rock’n’roll to your town and their shows are that hot making sweat  running down the walls (at least that was the case when I saw them in Utrecht last time). Therefor it stood to reason that the guys also come with a live album that will be available late spring this year.

“Live and Louder” is the name of the release that comes in different packages of which the CD version as well as the comprehensive boxset include a DVD* which adds even more value to it. Since the base for the review is the CD version I can’t report more details of the DVD, however, already the audio version includes many treats for fans of rock solid hardrock.

The songs that made it on “Live and Louder” have been recorded on the bands latest tour through Europe and the UK, focussing on the the latest two longplayers. “With You and I”, “Long Way to Go” and energetic “Mainline” – all excellent hardrock songs that grow in intensity compared to the already well-crafted album version. Some of the cover versions made it on the live album too. CCR’s “Fortunate Son” as well as “Midnight Moses" from the Sensational Alex Harvey Band are part of this live release that in total features 14 songs.

The crucial moment with every live album is the sound. “Live and Louder” was mixed by Anthony Focx who earlier worked with bands like Aerosmith and Metallica. He, together with Howie Weinberg who did the mastering, gave the album a sound that fully reflects the live atmosphere. So all good from that side too.

Conclusion: Great musicians, brilliant songs, hot shows and a cool vibe – that’s what The Dead Daisies is about and that’s what’s captured on this album. There’s just one thing that can top the album and that’s seeing the band live on stage.





  1. Long Way to Go
  2. Mexico
  3. Make Some Noise
  4. Song and a Prayer
  5. Fortunate Son
  6. We All Fall Down
  7. Lock ' N' Load
  8. Something I Said
  9. Last Time I Saw the Sun
  10.  Join Together
  11. With You And I
  12. Band Intros
  13. Mainline
  14. Helter Skelter
  15. American Band
  16. Midnight Moses


Label: SPV/Steamhammer

Genre: Hardrock

Release Date EU: May 19th, 2017



*Additional material on DVD:

Running time: 85 min

Language: English

Video: NTSC / 16:9

Audio: 2.0 Stereo

Documentary “Live & Louder” (40min)

  1. Intro
  2. Looking back at 2016
  3. Touring with the Daisies
  4. Doug Aldrich
  5. Show Preparation
  6. Stage Fright
  7. Song Favorites
  8. Cover Songs
  9. The Signing Sessions
  10. Looking to the Future

Tour Recaps (25 min)

  1. Recording
  2. Musikmesse / Hessentag
  3. Summer Tour
  4. Freedom to Rock Tour
  5. Arizona Cardinals
  6. Japan / South Korea – U.S.O.
  7. Kiss Kruise
  8. Fall/Winter Tour

Bonus Content (20min)

  1. Slideshow Best of 2016
  2. Video clip: Song and a Prayer
  3. Video clip: Join Together
  4. Video clip: Long Way to Go
  5. Video clip: Make Some Noise
CD review THE DEAD DAISIES "Live and Louder"