Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review PYRAMAZE "Contingent"

Veröffentlicht am 26. April 2017 von Markus W. in Pyramaze, Power Metal, Melodic Metal, Heavy Metal, News, Prog Metal, CD Review

(8/10) Danish metal outfit Pyramaze started in 200, releasing the debut in 2004, followed by "Legend of the Bone Carver" which saw the light of day in 2006. Pyramaze earned some positive reaction but it was in 2007 when ex-Iced Earth frontman Matt Barlow joined the Danes for "Immortal", something that made the spotlight even shining brighter on Pyramaze. All of a sudden the band's name was on everybody's lips and since "Immortal" became a great record too all the attention was well deserved.

What came next was a tougher period of time since the band had to handle some line-up changes; amongst others it was Barlow who re-joined Iced Earth. In the end it took till 2015 when the metal world could welcome Pyramaze fourth album "Disciples of the Sun". After all these changes the band got back into shallow waters which also means that work on the fifth record could starts. The result of this effort can be listened to end of April.

"Contingent" is the name of the new disc that includes 13 new power metal tracks. Listening to this album was a pleasure. In the meantime "Contingent" had quite some loop on my player. Not, because it is so complex. It's more the melodic power metal that does the job. Songs like "Land of Information" and "Heir Apparent" are catchy tunes, no doubt. But even though the melodies have an important role, none of the tunes is boring or annoying. Each of the tracks has a weaved in complexity while still expressing a certain ease. "Contingent" and Pyramaze don't need any name -dropping again. Their songs are by far good enough to satisfy old fans and gaining new supporters who are interested in powerful melodic metal.





  1. Land of Information
  2. Kingdom of Solace
  3. Star Men
  4. A Worl Divided
  5. Nemesis
  6. Coningent - Part I" The Campaign
  7. 20 Seconds Century
  8. Obsession
  9. Heir Apparent
  10. Coningent - Part II: The Hammer of Remnant
  11. Under Restraint
  12. The Tides That Won't Change
  13. Symphony of Tears


Label: Inner Wound Recordings

Genre: Power Metal

Release Date EU: April 28th, 2017

CD review PYRAMAZE "Contingent"