Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review WOLFHEART "Tyhiyys"

Veröffentlicht am 13. März 2017 von Markus W. in Wolfheart, Viking Metal, Thrash Metal, Black Metal, Death Metal

(8/10) Finnish Viking metal unit Wolfheart comes wit their third longplayer, continuing their journey through Finnish mythology and harsh metal. The debut from 2013, which was re-released in 2014 by Spinefarm, brought Tuomas Saukonnen and his gang into the spotlight. The sophomore “Shadow World” strengthened Wolfheart’s heartbeat and it’s the third record that has the task to anchor the band in the world of Viking metal.

“Tyhjyys” is the title of an album that starts with “Shores of the Lake Simpele”, followed by seven more songs. The beginning of track number one is silent and acoustic with a sinister vibe that’s included in this first part of the track. Things get harsher along the way with a very melodic guitar line, introducing the listener to the world of “Tyhjyys”.

“Boneyard” begins more bombastic and evolves to a raging songs reflecting the rawness of Northern nature in an excellent way. Things get even bigger with “World on Fire”. Wolfheart combines orchestral elements with fragile piano parts, all embedded in a dark and blackened metal context.

After such a cold storm it’s “The Flood” that comes with a constant interplay of loud and soft which makes the song to a real Viking metal anthem. There is no real downer on this album. The songs, being selected for this album, are all sphereful death metal tracks that are all rooted in rough Northern nature.

Wolfheart’s third longplayer combines Viking metal, death metal and a lot of Finnish mythodology to an exciting and entertaining total that keeps your fingers far away from the ‘Skip’-button. This record has a lot to offer and shows that Northern darkness also has its beautiful side.





  1. Shores of the Lake Simpele
  2. Boneyard
  3. World on Fire
  4. The Flood
  5. The Rift
  6. Call of the Wintere
  7. Dead White
  8. Tyhjyys


Label: Spinefarm Records

Genre: Viking Metal

Release Date EU: March 3rd, 2017

CD review WOLFHEART "Tyhiyys"