Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review ROYAL THUNDER "Wick"

Veröffentlicht am 3. April 2017 von Markus W. in Royal Thunder, Classic Rock, Hardrock, Rock, Alternative Rock, News, CD Review, Spinefarm Records

(9/10) The first time I took notice of Royal Thunder was two years ago when the four piece band from Atlanta. Georgia released an album called “Crooked Doors”. I was very impressed of what I got to hear. Royal Thunder released an album that was build on a sold foundation of classic rock with a singer, Mlny Parsonz, who was not only singing some lyrics – she was living each and every singer note in these quite personal songs.

Almost to date two years later the anticipated third album will be shipped to the record stores and it’s named “Wick”. The longplayer comes with twelve new songs that can easily live up to the quality of the sophomore record “Crooked Doors”.

Royal Thunder songs are not fully written and arranged before the band enters the studio. Actually it’s a lot of creativity that evolves to great tunes while recording the album. On of the songs though that was almost finished before starting the recording was the first single release. As it fits to the release date it’s “April Showers” that is an impressive and powerful track, belonging to the highlights on an excellent done longplayer. As with the earlier release its; Parsonz powerful vocals, with a lot of feel included, that enriches each of the 12 songs. Another song I want to stand still for a second is “Plans”. Based on an idea of bass player Will Fiora the song belongs to most intense ones on an album that’s full of climaxes. Acoustic guitar, vocals and a powerful drumbeat dominate the scene, giving the number a different appeal than the rest of the numbers of “Wick”.

Actually I could mention each of the tunes since they are all good. However, “Wick”, the title track” is another one I would like to mention. It’s an emotional song with strong lyrics. The song gives a wider range of interpretation. Besides that it was Mlny’s frustration during the songwriting that lead to these lyrics and you can feel the angriness on the one hand with a ‘don’t give up’-energy level that comes with it too.

“Wick” is an album that is mind-blowing in a sense that it comes with songs that gets under the skin. It’s the musical masterpiece that comes with lyrics that are more than just words. These songs are like a photo of a band at this very moment in time.





  1. Burning Tree
  2. April Shower
  3. Tied
  4. We Slipped
  5. The Sunking Chair
  6. Plans
  7. Anchor
  8. Wick
  9. Push
  10. Turnaround
  11. The Well
  12. We Never Fell Asleep


Label: Spinefarm Records

Genre: Classic Rock

Release Date EU: April 7th, 2017

CD review ROYAL THUNDER "Wick"