Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO "Live Unbound"

Veröffentlicht am 17. März 2017 von Markus W. in Alex Skolnick Trio, AST, CD Review, Jazz, Testament, Rock, Scorpions, Aerosmith, News

(*/10)I have to admit that jazz normally doesn't belong to my favorite styles of music and when entering the world of free jazz even leads to confusion. However, this album is maybe the foot in the door to jazz music. It’s not that it's the songs itself that brought the curiosity. It's Alex Skolnick's name that led to fact me listening to "Live Unbound".

As the title says, it's an album with a live component. It includes seven songs of which the first ones have been recorded in December 2014 live at Spin Studios New York.

"Unbound" and "Culture Shock" are two brand new songs that kick off the album and even non-jazz fans can find their way into these tracks. It's great music for a relaxed Sunday afternoon, performed by three great musicians.

The next three songs, "Shades of Grey", "99/09" and "Veritas" are know from earlier studio releases while the live versions of Aerosmith's "Dream On" and "Still Loving You" show the classics with a new livery. Totally re-arranged and with a fully new expression these rock classic shine in new splendor. "Dream On" comes in a ten minutes version while "Still Loving You" shines for almost twenty minutes with a quite bluesy ending.

Alex Skolnick's passion is the guitar and not the genre and the Alex Skolnick proves this very well. Even though you might be a die-hard Testament fans you should listen to this album because it shows another side of one of the most influential thrash metal guitarist.





  1. Unbound
  2. Culture Shock
  3. Shades of Grey
  4. 99/09
  5. Veritas
  6. Dream On
  7. Still Lovin' You


Genre: Jazz

Release Date EU: September 16th, 2016

CD review ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO "Live Unbound"