Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review STRIKER "Striker"

Veröffentlicht am 12. Februar 2017 von Markus W. in Striker, Heavy Metal, NWoBHM, Power Metal, Melodic Metal, Speed Metal, Thrash Metal, CD Review, News

(8/10) Edmonton, Alberta isn’t only known for ice hockey. Next to the well known Edmonton Oilers there’s also some metal anchored in the Canadian city. Striker is one of these bands having their home base in Alberta.

The four piece band appeared on the metal scene in 2007 and is celebrating their 10th anniversary this year. During this decade of metal the guys achieved a discography that includes so far five studio albums.

The newest strike of Striker is call “Striker” (couldn’t use the word more often ;) ). One year after “Stand in the Fire” hit the shelves it’s the new disc providing you with almost 40 minutes of fresh and vital metal.

“Striker” includes what fans of more oldschool metal wants to get served. Razorblade sharp riffs, a pounding bass and a merciless drum beat are the foundation for this album. And all this would not shine bright enough without a singer. Dan Cleary is the name of the guy that enriches each of the tracks with his vocals and his voice is a real benefit for the bands sound.

Highlights on this longplayer are for sure songs like “Pass Me By” with its 80’s speed/thrash cross references. And the fact that Cleary partly sounds like the young brother of Joey Belladonna makes the song even more exciting.

A track you also should have heard is entitled “Over the Top”. US metal meets melodic power metal – a general pattern that goes for most of the tunes on this self-titled record.

Striker’s newest disc is a lively and hard rocking metal release that units oldschool metal and dynamic sound. Severe neck pain alert….






  1. Former Glory
  2. Pass Me By
  3. Born to Lose
  4. Cheating Death
  5. Shadows in the Light
  6. Rock the Night
  7. Over the Top
  8. Freedom’s Call
  9. Curse of the Night
  10. Desire


Label: Record Breaking Records

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: February 24th, 2017

CD review STRIKER "Striker"