Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review KXM "Scatterbrain"

Veröffentlicht am 10. März 2017 von Markus W. in KXM, Hardrock, Heavy Metal, News, CD Review, Ratpak Records, Prog Metal, Rock, Ska, Alternative Metal, Alternative Rock, Korn, Lynch Mob, Kings X

(9/10) I try to limit the use of the word(s) ’super group’ as much as possible, but in this case it just fits to what KXM is about. This trio from the US is definitely a super group. George Lynch (Lynch Mob, Dokken), dUg Pinnick (Kings X) and KoRn drummer Ray Luzier are well known in metal, covering various angles of rock music. These three guys created with KXM an outlet for music, which is a mélange of progressive music and heavy metal with a modern touch.

The trio released their debut in 2014. The self-titled album immediately got attention and received very good feedback from media and fans. It even landed at #31 in the Billboard Top 200.

Having such a success with a debut is doubtless a motivator for adding another chapter to this success story. A word and a blow. KXM wrote 13 new songs and recorded them at the Steakhouse Studio in North Hollywood, California. They are all combined under the banner of “Scatterbrain” which is the title of this sophomore record.

As with the debut, the trio stress and stretches the limits of rock. One fact that makes this longplayer to a really good one is that, besides all the musical brilliance, each of the songs includes a certain ease, which makes it easier for listener to follow. A tune that reflects this very well is the first one on “Scatterbrain”.

The title track has been chosen to set the scene for the album and it directly includes all of KXM’s features. Furious guitar leads, and powerful drumming and a grooving bass line. It comes with a certain level of layers that are weaved together in this number. A certain scattered approach is present but dots are connected. It's a great song with twelve more to follow, each of them being on the same high quality level.

The groove is even more intense with “Breakout”, which in my opinion belongs to the real highlights on an album that’s full of great stuff. A number that show a slightly different side of KXM is “Not a Single Word”. Including some ska and funk element feels like a well-placed distraction half way – and it shows the wide range of sounds KXM embeds in their music.

Songs like the before mentioned doesn’t mean that “Scatterbrain” is a fully easygoing album. It’s not. This record actually comes with a darker vibe that’s reflected in “Noises in the Sky”. And also the slower paced “Panic Attack” belongs to this category. The tune is covered in an ominous sphere, which reflects the uncomfortable feeling of a panic attack very well.

KXM’s new album became an excellent one. This album contains music that is modern, innovative, multi-layered and rocking. What else could you wish from a KXM album?





  1. Scatterbrain
  2. Breakout
  3. Big Sky Country
  4. Calypso
  5. Not a Single Word
  6. Obsession
  7. Noises in the Sky
  8. Panic Attack
  9. It’s Never Enough
  10. True Deceivers
  11. Strand
  12. Together
  13. Angel


Label: Ratpak Records

Genre: Progressive Metal

Release Date EU: March 17th, 2017

CD review KXM "Scatterbrain"