Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review Ember Falls "Welcome to Ember Falls"

Veröffentlicht am 3. März 2017 von Markus W. in Ember Falls, Modern Metal, Alternative Metal, News, CD Review, Heavy Metal, Melodic Metal, Spinefarrm Records

(6/10) Finland offers quite some good rock and metal music. The Northern country has a vital scene with bands reflecting various styles. A fairly new band is Ember Falls. The guys from Tampere released their single in 2015, followed by “Welcome to Ember Falls”.

I mentioned various styles in Finnish rock music in general and it’s Ember Falls who combines most of the in their sound. What could be an interesting crossover is unfortunately more a search for an own sound that’s inspired by various genres in rock.

Just listening to the opener gives a good overview of what Ember Falls has to offer. A harsh metal riff kicks-off the tune and the first shout is bloodcurdling. But the moment you start thinking about listening to a death metal band, which a fundamental wrong thought, things move towards more melodic metal a la Lordi, just to continue with another switch twist towards modern metal.

But the mélange of styles is even wider thinking about tracks such as “Of Letting Go”. Electronica is right in the focus, some catchy H.I.M. shimmers through and I wouldn’t be surprised if the tune would enter the charts. With “Freedom” there’s a clichéd ballad on the longplayer too, a song that’s sugar-sweet and a bit sticky.

The melodic metal component is named “Rising Tide”, adding another piece the mysterious puzzle named “Welcome to Embers Fall”, not to forget the Linkin Park-like “Open Your Eyes”.

To sum up, Embers Fall released a debut that feels scattered. The band seems to be in search of their own sound and their own identity. The album isn’t bad; it’s just a too wider range of sounds that comes together on one album.





  1. The Cost of Doing Business
  2. Falling Rain
  3. Of Letting Go
  4. The Enemy You Need
  5. Freedom
  6. COE
  7. Rising Tide
  8. Open Your Eyes
  9. One More Time
  10.  Shut Down With Me
  11. The Lamb Lies Down In Sacrifice


Label: Spinefarm Records

Genre: Modern Metal

Release Date EU: February 17th, 2017

CD review Ember Falls "Welcome to Ember Falls"