Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review IRON REAGAN "Crossover Ministry"

Veröffentlicht am 19. Januar 2017 von Markus W. in Iron Reagan, Relapse Records, Hardcore, Punk, News

(8/10) This band is no stranger. Iron Reagan began as a side project by members of bands like Municipal Waste and Darkest Hour. "Worse Than Dead" was the debut of this new project. One year later, in 2014, the sophomore "The Tyranny of Will" was welcomed by metalheads all over the planet, now followed by the third longplayer.

In the tradition of the earlier releases Iron Reagan continues with their hardcore thrash metal melting pot leading to songs that are short and spot on. 18 tracks in not even 30 minutes are a clear statement. "Crossover Ministry" is a furious piece of music that's a pleasure for fans of bands like Suicidal Tendencies up to Nuclear Assault and the early Anthrax.

"Megachurch" for example includes phrasing that sounds very much like Suicidal-frontman Mike Muir, including some typical hardcore screams as a counterpart - a cool tune and a pleasure for each listener. 

This album feels like an express train with forgotten breaks. Iron Reagan rushes through the eighteen songs as if there would be no tomorrow. This longplayer doesn't give you a chance to take a breath. Piano-parts, like in the beginning of "Dead With My Friends" are an exception. After a few seconds a grooving riff starts the actual song that builds up to another high speed hardcore thrasher. 

Also having a look into the lyrics shows typical themes of crossover. Iron Reagan thematizes topics about the current state of the world ("A Dying World") up to trouble with the neighborhood ("Fuck the Neighbors").  

Iron Reagan celebrates good old crossover, merging hardcore and thrash metal into a brutal release that's like a musical smash into your face.





  1. A Dying World
  2. You Never Learn
  3. Grim Business
  4. Daed With my Family
  5. No Sell
  6. Condition Evolution
  7. Fuck the Neighbors
  8. Power of the Skull
  9. Crossover Ministry
  10. More War
  11. Blatant Violence
  12. Parents of Tomorrow
  13. Bleed the Filth
  14. Megachurch
  15. Shame Spiral
  16. Dogsnotgods
  17. Eat or be Eaten
  18. Twist Your Fate


Label: Relapse Records

Genre: Crossover

Release Date EU: February 3rd, 2017

CD review IRON REAGAN "Crossover Ministry"