Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review HORISONT "About Time"

Veröffentlicht am 31. Januar 2017 von Markus W. in Horisont, Hardrock, Classic Rock, News, Century Media, CD Review, Rock

(9/10) Alex, Charles, David, Magnus and Pontus, it’s these five guys from Gothenburg, Sweden who embarked on a journey through hardrock and classic rock. What started in 2006 resulted so far in four well-done longplayers with the newest album being on its way to your record shop.

After the very good ‚Odyssey‘ it’s the highly anticipated album number five that will electrify fans of excellent hardrock. ‚About Time‘ is a longplayer that spreads some ease and comes in a relaxed manner. It looks like Horisont didn't feeling any pressure while working on this record. Each of the songs includes a levity which gives all ten numbers a light-hearted vibe.

The music of this quintet is mainly build on some inspiration coming from the 70’s and the 80’s. Bands such as Thin Lizzy, the early Scorpions and Fleetwood Mac left their marks. Just to be clear, Horisont doesn’t copy these iconic bands. The five guys from Gothenburg inhaled the feel and soul of those days and transferred them into the here and now. 

With such an inspiring base things just could go well. Basically each of the tracks on ‚About Time‘ is a true highlight and therefor it’s hard to pick some of them for this review. However, there are a few tunes that might stick out their heads a bit. 

One of them is for sure the opener called ‚The Hive‘. It has a relaxed verse that slowly builds up to a rocking chorus with a great riff. 

Like with the earlier records too, there must be at least one track in the band members native language. This time it’s the galloping rocker ‚Letare‘ that also belongs to the shining pearls on ‚About Time‘.

A fact that's remarkable is the length of the various tunes. Horisont is much more focussed on their newest release. While having e.g. a ten minutes opener on ‚Odyssey‘, songs on this release are mainly kept below a four minutes level. One exception though. The end is reserved for the sensitive title track. This final chapter on the album stands for a grande finale, a moment that stands for the entire beauty of rock music. It’s not only about loudness. It’s this sense for well done melodies, great hooks, gently singing guitars and an emotional depth which makes this song to a stunning closer of a ‚wow album‘.

‚About Time‘ is a record, build on the story of time-travel, told in ten chapters that are more than worth to listen to. My advice: Stop reading, start listening.


  1. The Hive
  2. Electrical
  3. Without Warning
  4. Letale
  5. Night Line
  6. Point of No Return
  7. Boston Gold
  8. Hungry Love
  9. Dark Sides
  10. About Time
Label: Century Media 
Genre: Hardrock
Release Date EU: February 3rd, 2017
CD review HORISONT "About Time"