Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013


Veröffentlicht am 23. Dezember 2016 von Markus W. in Dawnbringer, Traditional Metal, Classic Metal, Heavy Metal, News, CD Review, High Spirit, Hardrock, Classic Rock

(8/10) Interesting stuff comes from Dawnbringer. One day before Christmas the band of Chris Black comes with a new four-track EP which seems to mark the end of this two decades lasting band. Black started some years ago with High Spirit another highly successful outfit that received great feedback. Compared to Dawnbringer, High Spirit has a far more positive approach while "XX" became a dark vibe release, however, with great songs.

"Why Would You Leave Me" begins silent and melancholic. "Time. Time was never on my side", these are the first lines of the song that gears-up when it comes to heaviness while staying in a heavy-hearted mode throughout.

Things don't get optimistic with "Into the Maze". The tunes comes with a strong riff that builds the base for this midpaced number. It's an almost hypnotic expression that comes with this track. Seven minutes of epical metal is what you get with "North by North" before "Earth" takes over. "Earth" is a song with a hammering beat, well-done leads and brilliant vocal lines. The tune shows some W.A.S.P. parallels and since "Golgotha" acted as an inspiration (see interview in noisey) it's not a too big of a surprise.

"The End of the Beginning" is already the last track on this EP and it easily can live up to the quality level of the before heard material of Dawnbringer. It's again melodic and traditional guitars that are in the forefront and after a more moderate start the instrumental shifts gears. In the end it's a furious track that reminds of the earlier Shrapnel-releases.

This EP is an exciting release, a treasure box, filled with five traditional metal pearls that are worth to be part of every serious metal collection.





  1. Why Would You Leave Me
  2. Into the Maze
  3. North by Borth
  4. Earth
  5. The End of the Beginning


Label: Ektro Records

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: December 23rd, 2016