Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review WITCHERY "In His Infernal Majesty's Service"

Veröffentlicht am 26. November 2016 von Markus W. in Witchery, Arch Enemey, News, CD Review, Thrash Metal, Death Metal, Heavy Metal, Black Metal

(8/10) I think there isn't a much better title than "In His Infernal Majesty's Service" for Witchery's newest longplayer. Six years after their latest studio album it's the Swedish five-piece that comes back with a brand new studio album which is the anticipated metal blast.

"In His Infernal Majesty's Service" is the sixth album of the band that rose in the end of the 90's out of Satanic Slaughter. In all these years the band went through several line-up changes but one thing they could maintain in all these years was the brutal mix of thrash-, black and death metal, something that's also reflected on the new record.

The album has a great sound. By this I mean, that the mix and the production are very well done by also keeping the general expression rough and unpolished. This longplayer feels like a 37 minutes energy boost that is very welcome.

Talking about the running time leads us also to the weaker part. Even though the album comes with eleven songs it became surprisingly short. One or two tracks more could have been easily handled by Witchery supporters, esp. considering the fact that the ones recorded are all awesome.

This makes it also hard to pick out some of the tracks since they are equally good. However, there are a few that might stick their head out a little bit more.

An evil grunt starts "Lavey-athan", an energetic an sinister opener per excellence. "Zoroast" is next. This number has a more dirty punk approach while "Netherworld Emporer" is a blackened thrasher that openes the gate to hell.

Witchery pushes the pedal to the metal with songs like "Gilded Fang" and builds on a steady beat in tunes such as "In Warm Blood".

"In His Majesty's Service" is a raw and wild album that includes an infernal beauty. This is real metal without boiled down to the essence.





1. Lavey-athan 
2. Zoroast 
3. Netherworld Emperor
4. Nosferatu 
5. The Burning Of Salem 
6. Gilded Fang 
7. Empty Tombs 
8. In Warm Blood 
9. Escape From Dunwich Valley 
10. Feed The Gun 
11. Oath Breaker 


Label: Century Media

Genre: Blackened Thrash

Release Date EU: November 25th, 2016

CD review WITCHERY "In His Infernal Majesty's Service"