Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review VADER "The Empire"

Veröffentlicht am 12. November 2016 von Markus W. in Vader, Death Angel, Heavy Metal, Thrash Metal, News, CD Review

(8/10) Vader belongs to one of the most important Polish metal exports. The guys started already in the beginning of the 80’s, conquering the world with their brutal and dynamic interpretation of death metal. Vader is very much Piotr ‘Peter’ Wiwczarek, the mainman and constant factor in Vader’s line-up. Wiwczarek had to face many line-up changes over time, something that led to an almost complete renewal in 2010/2011 when guitarist Spider joined followed a few month later by a new rhythm section.

This line-up seems to work very well. The four-piece has been in charge for the latest great Vader records with the newest strike waiting in line. “The Empire” is Vader’s next raging step. It’s a longplayer that shows the band raw, wild and hungry. This records wasn’t recorded to make compromises. The quartet doesn’t linger over soundscapes, epical songs and unnecessary details. “The Empire” is spot-on and each of the tracks directly hits bull’s eye - each note plays has a meaning.

The entire album gives you a bit more than a 30 minutes running time which means that the longest tracks are just scratching a four minutes level. Actually there is a lot of tunes that are boiled down to its essence, with two minutes of pure death/thrash metal.

What strikes is that Vader plays partly slower. This doesn’t mean that they have a foot on the break. There are still furious leads like in the opener “Angels of Steel” and also the following “Tempest” keeps the pace up high. Things start to become slightly different with “Prayer to the God of War”. Vader adds more thrash elements to their sound which makes the tune to a grooving metal track that reminds of Kreator. The four-piece continues their way to slow down with “Iron Empire” and it’s no surprise that this track is the longest one the album.

Just looking on these four songs shows the width of Vader’s sound on “The Empire”. The rest of the album follows this pattern featuring fast paced attacks like “Parabellum” up to slow groovers such as the closer “Send Me Back to Hell.

The guys added a lot of variation to their sound which makes the album to a shining highlight in 2016. This longplayer feels like the most mature one Vader has released so far. Without threatening their own trademarks the quartet shows what’s possible within the framework of thrash-/death- and groove metal. Thumbs up.





  1. Angels of Steel
  2. Tempest
  3. Prayer to the God of War
  4. Iron Reign
  5. No Gravity
  6. Genocidius
  7. The Army-Geddon
  8. Feel My Pain
  9. Parabellum
  10. Send Me Back to Hell


Label: Nuclear Blast Records

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date EU: November 4, 2016



CD review VADER "The Empire"