Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review TRANS-SIBERIAN ORCHESTRA "The Ghosts of Christmas Eve"

Veröffentlicht am 3. November 2016 von Markus W. in Trans Siberian Orchestra, News, CD Review, Rock, Symphonic Metal, Symphonic Rock, Heavy Metal, Hardrock

(*/10) There is a clear sign that Christmas waits around the corner - a new Trans-Siberian Orchestra release. Also in 2016 isn't exeptional. "The Ghosts of Christams Eve" is the newest release of this well-established rock opera project.

Is it really new material? Yes and no. Trans-Siberian Orchestra released a same-named DVD already in 2001. This version is the audio disc that comes with eleven songs, telling the story of a young runaway, looking for shelter in an old and abandoned theatre.

Since TSO fans most probabaly call the DVD already their own a special treat was needed to make this audio version attractive. The main extra is an additional song called "Music Box Blues - live". Next to this bonus the tracklist looks slightly different too. "Christmas Dreams" and "What Child is This?" are on this album to refelct the story, presented during the tour, in a better way.

"The Ghosts of Christmas Eve" is a well-done album, showing the project in an earlier stage. It's the right soundtrack for metal- and rock fans that are done with "White Christmas" and "Jingle Bells". Trans-Siberian Orchestra collectors should go for this longplayer which is a great release for the ones of you that never heard about the Trans-Siberian Orchestra (if this is possible anyhow).





  1. O’ Come All Ye Faithful/ O Holy Night (Instrumental)
  2. Good King Joy
  3. Christmas Dreams
  4. Christmas Eve/Sarajevo 12/24 (Instrumental)
  5. Christmas Canon
  6. What Child Is This?
  7. Music Box Blues
  8. Promises To Keep
  9. This Christmas Day
  10. First Snow (Instrumental)
  11. Music Box Blues Live (Daryl Pediford Tribute New York 2004) (Bonus Track)


Label: Universal Music Group

Genre: Symphonic Rock

Release Date EU: November 4th, 2016

CD review TRANS-SIBERIAN ORCHESTRA "The Ghosts of Christmas Eve"