Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review SIXX:A.M. "Vol.2, Prayers For The Blessed"

Veröffentlicht am 11. November 2016 von Markus W. in Sixx:A.M., Rock, Alternative Metal, Alternative Rock, Modern Metal, Modern Rock, News, CD Review, Hardrock

(8/10) The title says it all. This album is the second part of the "Prayers For The Blessed" session. The first album was released in spring this year and volume 2 includes another 11 songs from this fruitful session. In case you think that this means throw-outs I can tell you right here and now that this isn't the case. The first release contained great modern metal music and the new one continues with this approach.

"Vol.2, Prayers For The Blessed" is full of outstanding songs that are much better than what you normally get offered in this segment of rock. It begins with the sound of this longplayer that is dynamic and modern, supporting each of the tracks with a real push. Secondly the tunes itself are all very well done. Sixx:A.M. stands for modernized rock music that is highly entertaining, open enough for a bigger audience while still being authentic and down-to-earth. Such a mix is pretty unique and makes to album to a treat for every listener.

"Barbarians" is a great start into this second round. The tune became surprisingly heavy and energetic. The next track in the bating order is "We Will Not Go Quietly" which you might know already, since it was the first single release from Vol.2. This track contains everything a well-done modern metal track needs to include. It comes with a hard-edged modern beat, sharp riffs and a catchy chorus. If you're looking for a blueprint of modern rock music, than you'll find at least some elements in this great track. This number has the potential to enter the charts, widening the Sixx:A.M. fan base.

But the band isn't looking purely for the quick wins. The album has enough substance by a wide range of songs that makes it exciting throughout. The slowly creeping "Wolf at Your Door", the mainstream-based "The Devil’s Coming" and "Riot in My Head" with its more silent sections, all of them are terrific modern rock songs.

"Suffocate" is a great alternative rocker that alternates between more moderate and heavy sounds, one of the best tracks on the album. In general I must say that the second part of "Prayers For the Blessed" doesn't come with any filler. It seems like the guys had a very productive songwriting session, resulting in an awesome portfolio of songs.

A sense of humor combined with serious soulfulness is "Without You". It's a cover of the 70's Badfinger song and I'm not sure why the band chose this song. However, Sixx:A.M. put ones stamp on it and developed the song to an emotional rock number that sounds pretty good.

Sixx:A.M. underlines with this release their status and impact when it comes to modern rock. This guys can grow to something really big. 





  1. Barbarians (Prayers for the Blessed)
  2. We Will Not Go Quietly
  3. Wolf at the Door
  4. Maybe it's Time
  5. The Devil's Coming
  6. Catacombs
  7. That's Gonna Leave a Scar
  8. Without You
  9. Suffocate
  10. Riot in my Head
  11. Helicopters


Label: Eleven Seven

Genre: Modern Metal

Release Date EU: November 18th, 2916



CD review SIXX:A.M. "Vol.2, Prayers For The Blessed"