Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

DVD review SAXON "Let Me Feel Your Power"

Veröffentlicht am 7. Oktober 2016 von Markus W. in Saxon, Heavy Metal, Live, CD Review, DVD review, News, Power Metal, NWoBHM

(8/10) I guess that Saxon was one of the bands I have seen live most during the last years. It was always a pleasure to this fivepiece live on stage. Next to excellent new studio releases Saxon shows their real strength when they play live

To capture this live energy, Saxon decided to film some shows of the last tour, material that is now available as DVD and CD. Saxon has released numerous live albums and there might be the question of 'why'. Now, this is easily answered: because this is one of the best live recordings I have seen from the band. Maybe this is more of a subjective view on this album, however, it is what it is.

What I really like with "Let Me Feel Your Power" is the excellent sound, a weaker part of some of the former live records. A good sound in this context doesn't mean that it's over-produced. Saxon captured the live atmosphere of the three shows in an authentic way.

Three shows? Yes. The release contains material from Munich, the core of this release, with some additional tracks taped in Brighton. What is mentioned as bonus material is actually a full show Saxon played in Chicago. The sound of this recording is a bit more basic, which means that it's still very good, just a bit 'more live' than what you get from the Munich show.

In this sense the DVD brings some Saxon into your living room, supported by the visual part that comes dynamic and entertaining. 

The choice of song for the setlist of these three shows leaves nothing to be desired. "Denim and Leather", Crusader", "747 (Strangers in the Night)" and Princess of the Night", all classics of the NWoBHM dinosaur. Some of them are even twice on this release. But also newer songs have been performed and its amazing to see/hear them together with the old stuff. Saxon stands for a consistency of quality that's amazing. While some bands are mainly focussing on their 'old' hits the guys from the UK can easily place old and new next to each other without one being better than the other. They're just all good.

The funny part of the album happens in the beginning of the Munich show when Biff Byford as well as guitar legend Paul Quinn got some denim jackets, wearing them for the entire show.

Maybe some of you will miss some 'behind the scene/interview' material. However, "Let Me Feel Your Power" is what the title states, Saxon lfilling the venues with their unleashed power and the fans giving back their powerful enthusiasm for a band that never seems to get old. That's true rock'n'roll.





Live in Munich (November 2015)

  1. Battering Ram
  2. Motorcycle Man
  3. Sacrifice
  4. Destroyer
  5. Power And The Glory
  6. 20000FT
  7. Devil's Footprint
  8. Heavy Metal Thunder
  9. Queen Of Hearts
  10. Princess Of The Night
  11. Wheels Of Steel
  12. Denim And Leather
  13. Crusader

Live in Bighton (January 2016)

  1. Eye Of The Storm
  2. Battalions Of Steel
  3. Requiem

Bonus Material (Live In Chicago) (September 2015):

  1. Motorcycle Man
  2. Battering Ram
  3. This Town Rocks
  4. Sacrifice
  5. Power And The Glory
  6. Solid Ball Of Rock
  7. Dallas 1 PM
  8. Heavy Metal Thunder
  9. Rock The Nations
  10. The Eagle Has Landed
  11. Wheels Of Steel
  12. Backs To The Wall
  13. Just Let Me Rock
  14. Strong Arm Of The Law
  15. 747 (Strangers In The Night)
  16. Princess Of The Night
  17. Crusader
  18. Denim And Leather

Label: UDR Music

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: October 7th, 2016

DVD review SAXON "Let Me Feel Your Power"