Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review CROWBAR "The Serpent only Lies"

Veröffentlicht am 26. Oktober 2016 von Markus W. in Crowbar, News, Sludge, Doom Metal, CD Review, Thrash Metal

(8/10) New Orleans sludge and doom master Crowbar are around since almost three decades and no end in sight - fortunately. What Kirk Windstein and his three amigos deliver with "The Serpent Only Lies" is brutal. Windstein wrote another ten songs that are as intense as they could be.

"Falling While Rising" is the first tracl on this new album and the band doesn't give you a single moment to warm-up. A five minutes doom hell breaks loose, build on a hefty beat and a slow-mo riff. Upshifting with a break adds some variation to the blistering heat that rolls over you.

Crowbar stays in this mode throughout the entire album. However, there are some variations like the faster "I Am the Storm" which for sure more than just a breeze. This storm blows you away.

The title track comes with interesting breaks and a surprisingly melodic chorus - melodic the Crowbar-way. And on and on it goes. "The Enemy Beside You", "Embrace the Light" and "On Holy Ground", all typical Crowbar smashers per excellence.

The four minutes long "As I Heal" rounds of an album that shows Windstein and his band mates in best shape and form. These 45 minutes are demanding doom metal that belongs to the best stuff I've heard from the four-piece from New Orleans. "The Serpent Only Lies" shows the old Crowbar transferred into the here and now. Good stuff.





  1. Falling While Rising
  2. Plasmic and Pure
  3. I Am the Storm
  4. Surviving the Abyss
  5. The Serpent Only Lies
  6. The Enemy Besides You
  7. Embrace the Light
  8. On holy Ground
  9. Song of the Dunes
  10. As I Heal


Label: SPV/Steamhammer

Genre: Doom Metal

Release Date EU: October 28th, 2016

CD review CROWBAR "The Serpent only Lies"