Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review BRAINSTORM "Memorial Roots" re-rooted

Veröffentlicht am 8. Oktober 2016 von Markus W. in Brainstorm, Heavy Metal, Melodic Metal, Power Metal, News, CD Review

(8/10) "Memorial Roots" was and is to date one of Brainstorm's best records. Originally released in October 2009 the longplayer includes highlights such as "Shiva".

Since the band was under time pressure while recording this album things went well but also included some space for improvement. The original version sounds good but it led to discussions amongst fans, loving the songs and suffering a bit from the sound. Based on fan feedback and own perception it was Torsten Ihlenfeld's ambition to re-work the album.

The result of this work is released and it got the name "Memorial Roots" re-rooted. It proves that the effort was worth it. Brainstorm gave the powerful songs a more modern and dynamic expression. The guys lifted the 2009 release on a 2016 level. A main player in this work was Achim Köhler who worked with the band for some more album. Köhler took the original tapes and gave them a totally new mix.

For the ones of you that don't think that a new sound is enough of a goodie for buying this version I can tell you that there are all the tunes form the "Memorial Roots" session on this record. It's the two Digipak songs, a vinyl bonus track, a Japanese bonus track and an unreleased version of "Forsake What I Believed".

To sum up: "Memorial Roots" became a face-lift that makes the album more exciting than the original release. Power and dynamic get more into the forefront, something that benefits the well-done songs very much. Fans can't expect more from such a package.





  1. Forsake What I Believed
  2. Shiver
  3. The Conjunction Of 7 Planets
  4. Cross The Line
  5. Nailed Down Dreams
  6. Blood Still Stains
  7. Ahimsa
  8. The Final Stages Of Decay
  9. Victim
  10. When No One Cares
  11. Would You
  12. Seems To Be Perfect
  13. Too late To Deny
  14. Nothing
  15. Honesty
  16. Forsake What I Believed (Edit)


Label: AFM Records

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: September 16th, 2016

CD review BRAINSTORM "Memorial Roots" re-rooted