Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review WRETCH "Wretch"

Veröffentlicht am 15. September 2016 von Markus W. in Wretch, Black Sabbath, Doom Metal, Heavy Metal, Dark Metal, News, CD Review

(7/10) Wretch, that's Karl (g/v), Chris (d) and Bryce (b), guys, that are deeply rooted in oldschool doom metal. This powerful trio released their self-titled album a few days ago. "Wretch" includes seven songs, each of them a slow riff monster in the tradition of bands like St. Vitus and The Obsessed.

The tunes aren't extremely long. Most of them are around four minutes and in this perspective the album could be seen as an EP. However, the intensity the three guys put on the album is enormous.

It all starts with the slow and grooving "Running Out of Days" which works very well as being the opener for a real underground doom journey. With an almost hypnotic beat and guitar riff it's hard to not be fascinated by this tune. Wretch also put an eight minutes epos on this longplayer. "Icebound" is its name and it's one of these tracks that slowly builds up to a mighty doom hymn. There is no mistaken when it comes to crosslinks to Black Sabbath since Iommi-like riffs build the base for this quite good song. A welcomed section in this tune is the tempo break halfway when things all of a sudden get faster, with a well-done guitar solo being included. After such a more furious interplay the song turns back to its dark and grooving roots from the beginning. It's not easy to keep the level of excitement in an eight minutes doom song. But the way how "Icebound" is arranged makes it to a great one all along the way, something that shows the quality of the trio when it comes to songwriting.

"Wretch" became a dark doom metal release that turns the world into grey.





  1. Running Out of Days
  2. Rest in Peace
  3. Blood finger
  4. Winter
  5. Icebound
  6. Grey Cast Mourning
  7. Drown


Label: Bad Omen Records

Genre: Doom Metal

Release Date EU: August 26th, 2016


CD review WRETCH "Wretch"