Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review MEAT LOAF "Braver Than We Are"

Veröffentlicht am 29. September 2016 von Markus W. in Meat Loaf, Rock, Symphonic Rock, News, CD Review, Jim Steinman

(4/10) Oh boy. This album belongs to the biggest disappointments when it comes to 2016 rock music. Actually the pre-requisits couldn't have been better. The announcement that Meat Loaf and Jim Steinman work together on a new Meat Loaf album was a kickstart for wild dreaming.

Records like "Bat Out of Hell" and "Dead Ringer" are milestones in rock music, the latter being an album that brought me into rock and metal music. Later on Meat Loaf's sound became more mainstream, with "Modern Girl" being a hit single for the many.

This was the glorious past and unfortunately the today looks different. There have been some clouds in the blue sky, moments when the news spread that the iconic musician had to cancel shows due to health issues. Anyhow, I was curiously looking forward to "Braver Than We Are" but the album gave and gives me a hard time. I guess it would have been braver to not release this longplayer. Each of the songs on this record feels breathless and uninspired. Meat Loaf and Steinman try frantically to build on the glorious old days - an endeavor that ended up with this release that can't be compared with the early classics.

Even songs like "Going All the Way is Just the Start" with support from Ellen Forely and Karia DeVito, an attempt to get a bit closer to the heritage of Meat Loaf, can't turn things into something positive, because this song shows how big the gap is between the here and now and "Paradise By the Dasboard Light".

And to make things even worse, there is a cover of Sisters Of Mercy's "More" on the album which is a complete disaster. What have the guys done with this great song? It's arranged as a strange electronic number that takes away the entire energy of the original version.

All Meat Loaf fans should ignore this release and put on some old Meat Loaf vinyls instead, something I did to get this stuff out of my mind.





  1. Who Needs the Young
  2. Going All the Way is Just the Start
  3. Speaking in Tongues
  4. Loving You's a Dirty Job
  5. Souvenirs
  6. Only When I Feel
  7. More
  8. Godz
  9. Skull of Your Country
  10. Train of Love


Label: 429 Records / Caroline

Genre: Rock

Release Date EU: September 9th, 2016


CD review MEAT LOAF "Braver Than We Are"