Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review LITTLE BROTHER ELI "Cold Tales"

Veröffentlicht am 5. September 2016 von Markus W. in Little Brother Eli, Blues, Rock, Hardrock, Alternative Rock, News, CD Review

(7/10) The band's name might be a bit misleading, or maybe it was only me who had something totally different in mind when I read the Little Brother Eli for the first time. I can't really say what kind of music I expected but it for sure wasn't good quality blues rock with a modern touch, spiced-up even with some hip-hop elements.

So, who are these guys that came together under the banner of Little Brother Eli? The band started in Oxford, UK back in 2013. It was bassist Josh Rigal and singer Alex Grew who founded this quintet that also includes Adam Stowe, Benji Page and Tom Williams - so five guys and no brother Eli.

Like said earlier, the five guys play blues rock that is quite good stuff to listen to. The album starts with "Oceans" which is more an alternative rock song that has already some blues links. Those get far more intense in the next song. "Who Do You" includes a grooving blues guitar that set the tone of voice, supported by well done vocals lines.

It feels like the guys build up the quality level the further you dive into the tracklist. The first two songs are OK but with "This Girl" they quintet has a first small 'hit' on their album.

That the guys can also play the slower blues style is what they show with "Roll Away, a song followed by "Gold". The latter is a moderate rock song that comes with a super catchy chorus and a great sense for melodies. 

What helps "Cold Tales" as well being pure fun for listeners is next to the tunes the well-done production which leads to a warm and powerful sound. Little Brother Eli's album is definitely worth to spend some time with. Check it out.





  1. Oceans
  2. Who Do You
  3. This Girl
  4. Dreams
  5. Roll Away
  6. Gold
  7. Hanging
  8. Shake Me
  9. Beautioful People
  10. Cold Tales


Label: The Animal Farm

Genre: Blues Rock

Release Date EU: August 26th, 2016

CD review LITTLE BROTHER ELI "Cold Tales"