Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review BENT LIFE "Never Asked for Heaven"

Veröffentlicht am 1. September 2016 von Markus W. in Bent Life, Hardcore, News, CD Review, Thrash Metal, Groove Metal, Punk

(7/10) After having released several singles and EP's Bent Life recently finalized work on their debut album "Never Asked for Heaven" which was published a few weeks ago. Bent Life is Andy Voorhees (v), Brock Stephens (g), Chanse Goetz (d) Chris Miller (g) and Nick Miller (b). This five-piece band recorded 10 songs that they put on their first longplayer.

The guys from Nebraska didn't appear on the scene for making compromises. Their hardcore is straight-forward, coming with a lot of anger and rage. It's furious songs that are mostly around two minutes long, with one main exception. "Cheating Death" has an almost epical length of four minutes and is kept on slower pace. There are some metal riffs included and in general the track has an enormous groove. It's one of the tracks on this release that belongs to my favorite ones. Another tune that's done in this fashion is "War" and it reminded me of Pantera.

But next to these slower paced songs there are the fast ones too and it's the first half of this record that includes more of them. After a metal-influenced opener "Introduction" hell breaks loose with "Lock". Less then two minutes means compressed power, leading to the pure essence of hardcore. "Stab Me' is done similar even though it has a break halfway with things getting more groovy. It's a bit of Hatebreed that's included in this number.

"Permanence", the closer, is a heavy and uncontrolled bulldozer that rolls over everything that could withstand the noise attacks up till then.

"Never Asked for Heaven" is an angry hardcore album with metal links. It's a 100% energizer that sounds good and feels good.





  1. Introduction
  2. Lock
  3. Thanks for Nothing
  4. Hands of Lead
  5. Stab Me
  6. Cheat Death
  7. Kick
  8. Painless
  9. War
  10. Permanence


Label: Bridge 9

Genre: Hardcore

Release date EU: August 5th, 2016

CD review BENT LIFE "Never Asked for Heaven"