Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review EVERGREY "The Storm Within"

Veröffentlicht am 24. August 2016 von Markus W. in Evergrey, Power Metal, Heavy Metal, Prog Metal, Symphonic Metal, News, CD Review

(8/10) After 20 years in metal we can't say that Evergrey is the new kid on the block.The band can look band on a rich history that is documented in nine chapters. "The Storm Within" is the next one that will be released beginning of September.

Some piano notes open the next step of Evergrey. This relaxed beginning doesn't take too long since heavy guitars break the silence, marking the start of a powerful opener called "Distance". It's a more stately song that has a dark expression. It's almost like you can feel the misery coming closer if there wouldn't be some lighter vocal parts too. Compared to the opener "Passing Through" is a light-hearted track that still features a lot of intense riffs. A counterpart is "Disconnected" which belongs to the more dramatic numbers, coming with a lot of atmosphere.

Songs that include an additional layer are the ones with female vocal support. It's Nightwish's Floor Jansen who shares vocals with Tom S. Englund on "In Orbit". Just by doing this, Evergrey made these tune to one of the more thrilling ones, esp. since both voices go together very well. "The Paradox" is the second one that includes guest vocals. This time it's Englund's wife Carina who enriches this tune. It belongs to the more silent ones, at least for most of the time. I would describe it as a well-crafted power ballad that is touching.

The title track "The Storm Within" comes at the end. It's another six minutes tune with some soulful moments in the verse, before things get more forceful on the chorus. A kind of constant pattern throughout the entire track is the keyboards that reminded me of HIM.

All is all "The Storm Within" is a strong metal record that includes all Evergrey trademarks - power, heaviness, progressiveness and melancholy. Fans of the earlier Evergrey longplayers will move this one too. I would say: all done right.





  1. Distance
  2. Passing Through
  3. Someday
  4. Astray
  5. The Impossible
  6. My Allied Ocean
  7. In Orbit (feat. Fllor Jansen)
  8. The Lonely Monarch
  9. The paradox of the Flame (feat. Carina Englund)
  10. Disconnect
  11. The Storm Within


Label: AFM Records

Genre: Symphonic Power Metal

Release Date EU: September 9th, 2016

CD review EVERGREY "The Storm Within"