Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review DGM "The Passage"

Veröffentlicht am 25. August 2016 von Markus W. in DGM, Prog Rock, Prog Metal, Heavy Metal, Power Metal, News, CD Review, Evergrey

(8/10) DGM newest release "The Passage" is already the eighth one of the Italian five-piece. The guys started 20 years ago and what began with the self-released "Random Access Zone" finds its new climax in "The Passage".

The longplayer includes eleven new tracks that are dynamic, with a bombastic touch. Things are always heavy enough to not disappoint riff-oriented metalheads by also including a melodically component that makes them approachable for a wider target group too. In this perspective DGM walks on a thin line on which they manage to stay on.

Songs like the catchy "Animal" or the heavy title track are good stuff for your ears. The same goes for "Ghost of Insanity". The tune starts with a furious guitar before it enters more melodic territory. The fact that Evergrey singer Tom Englund contributes with some vocals makes the number even better. In the end it's the creative tweaks build into this song which makes it to an entertaining five minutes experience for the listener.

"The Passage" also includes another guest appearance. Symphony X guitarist Michael Romeo supports on the mighty "Dogma". The tune belongs to the really heavy ones on the album. The pace is higher than in most of the other songs and the guitars are furious. However, the melodic elements are still embedded in the chorus by well-done vocal lines. For me, "Dogma" is one of the best, since most complete, tracks on "The Passage".

DGM shows that Italian metal has more to offer than 'just' bombastic, partly even overloaded, metal. "The Passage" focusses on the essence without forgetting about the details.





  1. The Secret Part 1
  2. The Secret Part 2
  3. Animal
  4. Ghost of Insanity
  5. Fallen
  6. The Passage
  7. Disguise
  8. Portrait
  9. Daydreamer
  10. Dogma
  11. In Sorrow


Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Prog Metal

Release Date EU: August 26th, 2016


CD review DGM "The Passage"