Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review DARK FOREST "Beyond the Veil"

Veröffentlicht am 29. August 2016 von Markus W. in Dark Forest, Heavy Metal, Power Metal, Classic Rock, NWoBHM, CD Review, News, Stormwitch, Witchhunter

(8/10) If you belong to the group of metalheads that includes Stormwitch's "The Beauty and the Beast" to their personal favorites than you should check-out this album. After the first notes of "Beyond the Veil" I felt like being back in the 80's when the guys from Gerstetten, Germany had their peak moment.

For the ones of you that never heard about Dark Forest up till now, it's a five-piece band from Dudley, England that started back in 2002. "Beyond the Veil" is the fourth full-length album of these five metal maniacs, following the 2014 release "The Awakening". Main trademarks of Dark Forest's music is traditional metal that includes some folk elements and medieval inspiration. The end result feels like the old Stormwitch sound from the early days have been beamed into the here and now. "Beyond the Veil" comes across as an harmonic and authentic metal album that includes a higher entertainment factor.

"Blackthorn", as one example, is a melodic uptempo metal anthem with great hooks and the right dose of heaviness. But there's some Blind Guardian included as well. The fast "The Wild Hunt" is due to its speed one of these tracks that reminds the listener of the guys from Krefeld. Also the acoustic middle part is a well placed break that shows some Iron Maiden influences - something that makes things just more exciting.

Also to mention are Josh Winnard's vocals - it's a wide range he can cover and it's the high pitches he hits spot-on. This guy is one of the biggest assets of Dark Forest.

All in all I must say that I'm impressed of what the guys put on "Beyond the Veil". This is true traditional metal in the best meaning of the word. Dark Forest revives early days of metal and a lot of personal memories.





  1. On the Edge of Twilight
  2. Where the Arrow Falls
  3. Autumn's Crown
  4. Blackthron
  5. Lunantishee
  6. The Wild Hunt
  7. Earthbound
  8. The Undying Flame
  9. Men-an-Tol
  10. Beyond the Veil
  11. Ellylldan
  12. The Lore of the Land


Label: Cruz Del Sur Music

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: August 26th, 2016

CD review DARK FOREST "Beyond the Veil"