Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review Q5 "New World Order"

Veröffentlicht am 22. Juli 2016 von Markus W. in Q5, Hardrock, Heavy Metal, Classic Rock, NWoBHM, CD Review, New, Power Metal

(7/10) I can't imagine that the songs on "New World Order" will lead to the like. This album is more a step back into the past when the NWoBHM rose and bands like Iron Maiden and Saxon gained momentum. It's especially the latter I had to think of for more than once while listening to Q5's newest output.

Knowing that Q5 started in 1983 it's not a too big surprise that the guys are rooted in this kind of traditional metal music. What is surprising though is the fact that Q5 are releasing a new album. It's actually their first release since 1985, not considering the 1986 single "Living on the borderline".

It was in 2009 when Nightshades, the successor band of Q5, was asked to perform at the Headbanger's Open Air in Germany, something the band did under the banner of Q5. Things got more concrete after Q5 performing at the Sweden Rock Festival in 2014. What was meant to be a 'one off' show became the start of a renewed cooperation - with "New World Order" being the result of it.

This longplayer features 14 songs that are melodic metal with a well-done oldschool expression. What's fortunately less dusty is the production that is powerful and crystal clear. This means eighties metal with a moderized appeal achieved by a well done production.

Like said in the beginning, this album doesn't lead to a 'new world order', but it provides you with a lot of very entertaining music that you at least should give a chance, esp. if you like Saxon.





  1. We Came here to Rock
  2. One Night in Hellas
  3. The Right Way
  4. New World Order
  5. Tear Up the Night
  6. Halfway to Hell
  7. A Prisoner of Mind
  8. Unrequited (A Woman of Darkness and Steel)
  9. Just One Kiss
  10. Fear is the Killer
  11. Land of the Setting Sun
  12. A Warrior's Song
  13. Mach Opus 206 (instr.)
  14. Get Next to You


Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: July 8th, 2016

CD review Q5 "New World Order"