Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review POWERWOLF "The Metal Mass Live"

Veröffentlicht am 20. Juli 2016 von Markus W. in Powerwolf, Power Metal, Heavy Metal, Melodic Metal, News, Live, CD Review, Symphonic Metal

(8/10) Powerwolf belongs to the phenomenons of the last years. I'm not sure if the guys, when starting in 2003, thought about having such a huge success. Powerwolf constantly increased the amount of fans and with each released record the guys sold more and more.

The debut "Return in Bloodred" was a first milestone of Powerwolf. This was back in 2005, followed by five more studio releases, some charts entries included.

After having had with "Blessed & Possessed" even a top 3 album in Germany, it's the right moment to stand still and reflect on the last years. And what could be better than doing this with a live album/DVD/Blu-Ray. The German masters of metal mass recorded in total three shows - Masters Of Rock, Summer Breeze and the show they played in Oberhausen, Germany in October 2015.

The base for this review is the CD version that covers 16 songs, including old songs like the title track from "Lupus Dei" as well as new material from the mentioned "Blessed & Possessed" album. This live album includes all the hymns Powerwolf wrote over the last decade and is an excellent album for metalheads that, for whatever reason, missed the band so far and it's also a great collection of Powerwolf highlights for each fan.

One of the crucial fact, and I'm repeating myself here, is the quality of sound you get with a live record. Not other than expected "The Metal Mass Live" comes with a perfect sound that's maybe even a bit too good. However, this recording is far away from a muddy sound in bootleg quality, This production is build on a dynamic, powerful and clear diversified sound. The mix, also the one between band and fans, is done very well which, all together, makes this release to an entertaining moment in metal.

As said earlier, I only had a chance to listen to the CD and I can imagine, that the DVD/Blu-Ray emphasis this positive impression even more.

Powerwolf proves that live releases sometimes make sense. This one for sure does.





  1. Blessed & Possessed
  2. Coleus Sanctus
  3. Amen & Attack
  4. Cardinal Sin
  5. Army Of The Night
  6. Resurrection by Erection
  7. Armata Strigoi
  8. Dead Boys Don't Cry
  9. Let There Be Night
  10. Werewolves of Armenia
  11. In The Name Of God (Deus Vult)
  12. We drink your blood
  13. Lupus Dei
  14. Sanctified with Dynamite
  15. Kreuzfeuer
  16. All We Need Is Blood


Label: Napalm Records

Genre: Power Metal

Release Date EU: July 29th, 2016

CD review POWERWOLF "The Metal Mass Live"