Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review CASTLE "Welcome to the Graveyard"

Veröffentlicht am 9. Juli 2016 von Markus W. in Castle, Occult Rock, Classic Rock, Hardrock, Rock, News, CD Review

(8/10) Castle is the brainchild of Elizabeth Blackwell and Mat Davis, a band that is rooted in occult rock. This US/Canadian cooperation has released a debut called "In Witch Order" in 2011, followed by two more longplayers.

"Welcome to the Graveyard" is already number four and it will darken the sunny July sky with eight doomy occult rock songs. Build on classic rock guitars and the rough but melodic vocal lines, Castle created a record that is surrounded by spiritual darkness.

"Black Widow" is a well done start into this album that's with only eight songs a bit too short. However, these tracks are all great ones that reminded me in parts of Spiders. There are some of these female fronted bands around at the moment but Castle stands out with their own sound.

The longest track is called "Veil of Death". It's a six minutes highlight that starts mystic and slow. A melodic riff picks-it up and turns the number into an epical piece of music that is one of the best ones on "Welcome to the Graveyard". The galloping rhythm is pushing hard while the vocals are caught somewhere between hope and despair. Next to all the mentioned, the song has a catchy expression which makes it to a hymn on this longplayer.

Towards the end "Down in the Cauldron Bog" sounds very Black Sabbath-inspired and it's kept more moderate than some of the other songs. There is an hypnotic beat build into this tune which works very well and that marks a good ending of an interesting album.

Castle's "Welcome to the Graveyard" keeps the excitement from beginning to end - and now it's time to open the curtains again for letting the sun in.





  1. Black Widow
  2. Hammer and the Cross
  3. Welcome to the Graveyard
  4. Veil of Death
  5. Flask of the Pentagram
  6. Traitors Rune
  7. Down in the Cauldron Bog
  8. Natural Parallel


Label: Van Records

Genre: Occult Rock

Release Date EU: July 15th, 2016

CD review CASTLE "Welcome to the Graveyard"