Overblog Folge diesem Blog
Edit post Administration Create my blog

(7/10) Aeges (pronounced as 'ages') are from Los Angeles, CA and the band consists of Kemble Walters, Tony Baumeister, Cory Clarke and Mike Land. The quartet releases these days their new longplayer "Weightless" which follows "The Bridge" from 2012.

A check of their Facebook page provides you with the informationof the quartet describing the genre their music fits to as "nasty riffs". And yes, the songs on "Weightless" are full of riifs, the best ones being included in the title track, being also the opener, and the mighty "Another Wasteland". Having mentioned these two tracks I already told you about the real highlights on "Weightless".

The other eleven tracks on the sophomore record are not too bad, but they are missing the spark that starts the fire. In one or another way the guys build most of the songs on the same principles which makes the variation between the tracks very limited. I was tempted to press the 'skip' button more than ones which isn't a good sign.

On the other hand I have the feeling that there is more potential in the band than what they present on "Weightless". Vocals done by Walters and Clark are pretty good, the riffs are sharp and powerful and the rhythm section is like a smoothly working rock engine. And last but not least the album got a well-done production too. All these things are good prerequisites for an excellent release, if, yes if, the songs would be more exciting.

Therefore it will be seven points going to Aeges for "Weightless" with the hope of making use of the band's full potential next time.





  1. Weightless
  2. Save Us
  3. A Reason Why
  4. Clear
  5. All of Me
  6. Another Wasteland
  7. Echoes
  8. What if
  9. Nothing to Prove
  10. Better
  11. Drown
  12. Listening
  13. Drying Out


Label: Another Cetury

Genre: Alternative Rock

Release Date EU: July 22nd, 2016

CD review AEGES "Weightless"
Tag(s) : #Ae4ges, #News, #CD Review, #Modern Metal, #Modern Rock, #Alternative Metal, #Alternative Rock, #Nu Metal, #Post-Grunge

Diesen Post teilen

Repost 0