Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review RICHARDS/CRANE "Richards/Crane"

Veröffentlicht am 15. Juni 2016 von Markus W. in RichardsCrane, Ugly Kid Joe, Godsmack, News, Acoustic, Rock, Blues, Grunge, CD Review

(7/10) Hmmmm. What to write about this album? Not easy and even after quite some rounds of listening I'm not hundred percent sure when it comes to "Richards/Crane".

Richards/Crane is the first album out of a cooperation of Godsmack's Lee Richards and Ugly Kid Joe frontman Whitfield Crane. Both guys benefit from a lot of experience with their bands, something that actually should be a good base for such a cooperation.

So, how does it sound when these to guys collaborate? The ten songs on the album neither reflect one of the two 'mother bands'. Richards and Crane release an acoustic album that focusses on silent moments, nice melodies and a lot of feel. Sometimes I was reminded of music played while sitting around a campfire while other moments sound like the MTV unplugged session of grunge icons Alice In Chains ("Someday").

All this is actually quite positive and the fact that the duo get's support by Myles Kennedy on "Black & White" gives the album even an extra. However, you can feel already the 'but' that's coming. The fact that each of the songs in itself sounds good doesn't mean that the totality is great as well. After a while I had the idea that I hear the same thing only different. The album doesn't contain any peaks or breakouts. Each of the ten numbers follow a kind of the same scheme which leads to a certain state of boredom halfway. Richards and Crane forgot to release the hand break which means that the album stays in the same gear all the time.

Anyhow, good songs, good idea and next time please a bit more variation and peperoni.





  1. Homeward
  2. Everyone
  3. Here in the Light
  4. Black & White
  5. Someday
  6. Lost
  7. Waiting for a Prayer
  8. Rainy Day
  9. Don't Cry for me
  10. World Stand Still


Label: Metalville

Genre: Acoustic

Release Date EU: May 27, 2016



CD review RICHARDS/CRANE "Richards/Crane"