Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review OLD FIRE "Songs From the Haunted South"

Veröffentlicht am 24. Juni 2016 von Markus W. in Old Fire, Steven Wilson, Anathema, Prog Rock, Rock, Psychedelic Rock, Ambient

(7/10) Old Fire is a project started by Texas based programmer John Mark Lapham who is known from The Earlies and The Late Cord. Mid June the first album of Old Fire will be released and it features thirteen songs that are kept silent and sphereful.

Joining the world-class rooster of KSCOPE, including artists/bands like Steven Wilson and The Pineapple Thief, Lapham developed this longplayer based on an album concept that comes from a 4AD project.

This record is, as most of the label's releases, a quiet and emotional journey through various soundscapes. This album isn't about being loud, having mighty riffs in the forefront. "Songs From the Haunted South"'s music is build on an instrumentation including piano, cello and guitars, played by various musicians.

The title of the album already indicates the atmosphere you can expect on "Songs From the Haunted South". It's not about swinging music with sing-along moments and light-hearted vibe. Each of the thirteen tunes has a melancholic vibe which gives Old Fire's debut a wistful expression. The artwork, kept in grey and done by designer Vaughan Oliver, is reflecting this very well and makes the longplayer to a complete package where things just fit together.

If you like the earlier mentioned bands as well as Anathema & co. you should listen to this album too. It's worth it even thoug it doesn't reach the extraordinary class of these bands. 





  1. Old Fire 3
  2. Along Came A Sadness
  3. Helix
  4. Know How
  5. It`s Easier Now
  6. A Stranger in The Family
  7. Bloodchild
  8. Faust
  9. Shadows
  10. A Slight Grip, A Gentle Hold
  11. Laser Beam
  12. The Orchids
  13. Deadhouse Dream



Genre: Prog Rock

Release Date EU: July 23, 2016

CD review OLD FIRE "Songs From the Haunted South"