Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review KISSIN' DYNAMITE "Generation Goodbye"

Veröffentlicht am 27. Juni 2016 von Markus W. in Kissin' Dynamite, Hardrock, Melodic Metal, Heavy Metal, Sleaze Rock, CD Review, New

(8/10) "Money, Sex and Power" was a bit of a downer a few years ago and fortunately things got better again on the successor "Megalomania". Now Swabian metal youngsters Kissin' Dynamite need to prove that this trend is a sustainable one.

"Generation Goodbye" is that album that should do this job, and it does. Actually I must say that the guys are going back one more step towards their roots. Kissin' Dynamite are back in straight forward melodic metal and all the added frills belongs to the past.

The title tracks and the first single release "Hashtag Your Life" give a clear direction for "Generation Goodbye". I can't really say that the band is back, since they were never gone, but for sure they found back their old strength. These two tunes include everything I expect from the quintet - melodic metal that has its base in the late 80's, spiced-up with a modern sound which makes the album fresh and dynamic.

My personal preference goes more for the faster and heavier tracks on "Generation Goodbye". "She Came, She Saw", Highlight Zone" and "Under Friendly Fire" are just some of these anthems that invites immediately for a sing-a-long. And even though the melodies are quite catchy, things get never too sift and cheesy. Guitars and a hard hitting rhythm section are constantly pushing.

There are some more moderate moments on this album too. If Clocks Were Running Backwards" is one of them. Being far away from a ballad the tune starts more silent before it builds-up towards a powerful metal track.

There is a powerful ballad called "Masterpiece" on the album too. Hannes Braun shares vocals with, I guess, Jennifer Haben from Beyond The Black, something that adds a new expression to Kissin' Dynamite's sound. In the end it's only "Utopia" that stands back a bit behind the other ten songs.

Kissin' Dynamite got over their "Money, Sex and Power" phase. "Generation Goodbye" is their best album since having published "Addicted to Metal".





  1. Generation Goodbye
  2. Hashtag Your Life
  3. If Clocks Were Running Backwards
  4. Somebody to Hate
  5. She Came She Saw
  6. Highlight Zone
  7. Masterpiece
  8. Flying Colours
  9. Under Friendly Fire
  10. Lager Than Life
  11. Utopia


Label: AFM Records

Genre: Melodic Metal

Release Date EU: July 8th, 2016

CD review KISSIN' DYNAMITE "Generation Goodbye"