Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review JIM BREUER & THE REGULATORS "Songs From the Garage"

Veröffentlicht am 12. Juni 2016 von Markus W. in Jim Breuer, The Regulators, Heavy Metal, Hardrock, News, CD Review, Rock, Sleaze Rock

(8/10) Metal and comedy goes together very well. Bands like Spinal Taps and Steel Panther are good examples, the latter being still very successful by reaching a bigger crowd of metalheads. Bit there have been also comedians that got a slot on the billing of bigger festivals like Wacken.

This time it's US comedian Jim Breuer that recorded an album with a backing band called The Regulators. "Songs From the Garage" is the title of this release that contains quite good numbers.

The opener "Thrash" marks a good start into this release. Hard hitting guitars, a chorus that is made for the stage and a well done melody are the main characteristics. Not too bad for a metal disc I would say.

The good thing is the fact that the other tracks can live up to this entertaining start. Breuer's album isn't innovative but the music is powerful. The songs on the longplayer are all inspired by well-known genre giants. Some Danko Jones shimmers through with the opener, Alice Cooper has delivered the blueprint for"Raising Teenage Girls" while "Mr. Rock'n'Roll", with Brian Johnson, is clearly AC/DC inspired.

"Old School" instead is exactley what the title offers - old school. It's a Kiss-like rocker that tries to come with asmuch as possible song quotes and band names.

Another cool tune is called "Sugar Rush" which is a fast smasher with some Mötley Crüe included, esp. in the bridge and the chorus.

Honestly, I was a bit sceptical when I got this album. But after having listened to it several times I have to say, that it's fun and very entertaining. Good stuff for some good times.





  1. Thrash
  2. Raising Teenage Girls
  3. Old School
  4. Be a Dick 2Nite
  5. My Rock n Roll Dream (featuring Brian Johnson)
  6. Mr. Rock n Roll (featuring Brian Johnson)
  7. Who’s Better Than Us?!
  8. Family Warrior
  9. Sugar Rush
  10. Wannabe
  11. The Unexplained


Label: Metal Blades

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: May 27th, 2016

CD review JIM BREUER & THE REGULATORS "Songs From the Garage"