Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review IF THESE TREES COULD TALK "The Bones of a Dying World"

Veröffentlicht am 8. Juni 2016 von Markus W. in If These Trees Could Talk, News, CD Review, Post Rock, Instrumental, Rock, Alternative Rock

(9/10) If these trees could talk, they would tell the story of an instrumental band from Ohio that has released already two records and gaining momentum. If these trees could talk, the story would be about a band that convinced Brain Slagel that much that he offered the guys a deal at Metal Blade. If these could talk it would be about a band that creates well-crafted post rock music that comes without any vocals.

If These Trees Could Talk has their new album ready to be shipped and it is the debut for Metal Blade. The label also reissued the earlier outputs of the guys which is great. It allows rock music enthusiasts to discover even more of this interesting band.

The mainmen behind this album, called "The Bones of a Dying World", is drummer Zack Kelly and guitarist Coby Kelly. The two of them have been the creative drivers, coming up with ideas that led to nine extraordinary song. Each of the nine numbers on this album is build on great melodies that are fascinating. These tunes take you in a world of big soundscapes and arcs of melodies. It's about songs that are very well done, easy to access and still complex, packaged in a tight and dynamic sound framework.

Each of the songs is a little masterpiece in itself. The album has a lot of these melodic moments that could be a soundtrack for getting lost in your own dreams. But If These Trees Could Talk are smart enough to also break the pattern once in a while. Moments of harsh guitars appear here and there, something that spices-up this album.

After you've listened to "The Bones of a Dying World" you can understand the fascination of Brian Slagel. This music is extremely well-done post-rock that deserves nine points from Markus' Heavy Music Blog.





  1. Solstice
  2. Swallosing Teeth
  3. Earth Crawler
  4. After the Smoke Clears
  5. The Here and Hereafter
  6. Iron Glacier
  7. The Giving Tree
  8. Berlin
  9. One Sky Above Us


Label: Metal Blade

Genre: Post Rock

Release Date EU: June 3rd, 2016

CD review IF THESE TREES COULD TALK "The Bones of a Dying World"