Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review HARM/SHELTER "Paycheck"

Veröffentlicht am 20. Juni 2016 von Markus W. in Harm-Shelter, Hardcore, Punk, News, CD Review, Madball, Hatebreed

(7/10) It was five years ago in Giessen, Germany when Harm/Shelter kickstarted their hardcore band. Build on passion for music and wild concerts the guys took things step by step.

Their first demo, simply called "Demo", was release in 2012 followed by an EP - "The Evil Within". Having done all this, it was time for the bands first full-length release. "Paycheck" is this awaited debut and it features twelve hardcore songs that are partly inspired by bands like Hatebreed, but also Madball can be seen as a reference, esp. when it comes to the grooving elements and the gang shouts which are embedded in most of Harm/Shelter's tracks. Talking about the groove, I actually had to think about the early Downset alo more than once while listening to "Payback".

What comes a bit as a surprise is the only German song on "Paycheck". "Vom Schatten ins nichts" is reminding of Germans crossover fanatics Such A Surge. It's actually a not too bad song even though it might not really fit into context.

All in all Harm/Shelters debut isn't a revolution in hardcore. It's also not the most innovative release, but it's solid and authentic. These five guys love what they are doing and this passion comes back in each of the songs. A good hardcore album that is entertaining but not rock science.





  1. Eternal Crusade
  2. Suppression
  3. For the Low
  4. Mr. Brown
  5. Venom
  6. Vom Schatten ins Nichts
  7. Interlude
  8. D.F.T.R.
  9. Gomorra
  10. Judgement
  11. Satans Breed
  12. Mindcontrol


Label: BDHW Records

Genre: Hardcore

Release Date EU: June 24th, 2016




CD review HARM/SHELTER "Paycheck"