Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review FIRST SIGNAL "One Step Over the Line"

Veröffentlicht am 23. Juni 2016 von Markus W. in First Signal, Hardrock, Rock, AOR, News, Harem Scarem, CD Review

(6/10) I'm tempted to say that "One Step Over the Line" is a typical Frontiers Music album. Again we are facing a combination of musicians, brought together by label president Serafino Perugino, that started a project in melodic rock. In 2010 it was Dennis Ward and Harem Scarem mainman Harry Hess that kicked-off First Signal.

Since this collaboration received quite positive feedback the idea of another First Signal album was floating around. Things became more realistic when Swedish producer Daniel Flores came on board and again it's the first two Harem Scarem releases that has been the inspiration for First Signal.

What you get on this second strike is a full package of songs that cover everything between melodic rock and AOR. It almost goes without saying that Harry Hess does a great job on this album. His voice belongs to the best ones in this genre and also this record benefits a lot from his vocal. My only wish would be hearing Hess rather on a new Harem Scarem album than on another First Strike disc.

The reason for this is, that "One Step Over the Line" is probably what the title indicates. It's maybe one step too far. Even though the songs are good and besides Hess' excellent vocals there isn't that much new on this disc. It's one of these albums that is exchangeable and it feels like the cookie cutter approach won again.This is anyhow a risk of AOR, but there are examples showing that thing can be done also more exciting.

All in all there is nothing wrong with this album, it's just that you might have heard things already earlier.





  1. Love Run Free
  2. Still Pretending (new)
  3. Love Gets Through
  4. Broken
  5. Karma (new)
  6. Minutes of your Time
  7. She is Getting Away
  8. December Rain
  9. Wiegt me in
  10. Pedestal
  11. One Step Over the Line


Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Melodic Rock

Release Date EU: June 3rd, 2016

CD review FIRST SIGNAL "One Step Over the Line"