Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review DUST BOLT "Mass Confusion"

Veröffentlicht am 29. Juni 2016 von Markus W. in Dust Bolt, Thrash Metal, Crossover, News, CD Review, Death Metal, Speed Metal, Heavy Metal

(7/10) Anthrax wrote a song called "Caught in a Mosh" and I had to think about this track when I was listening to the new album of Dust Bolt. On the one hand the guys from Landsberg am Lech, Germany continue with their thrash-/crossover melange and their thirst full-length album strengthen their position as solid thrash band. But the four-piece band is also caught in the patterns of this style.

"Mass Confusion" includes eleven new songs that are primarily influenced by bands such as Suicidal Tendencies and Exodus. Like on the previous two records also "Mass Confusion" became a full-blast metal album that features tunes which are dynamic and powerful.

"Sick X Brain" is a short and uncompromising opener, "Blind to Art" is a slow starter that builds up to a thrasher with some Slayer-like riffs and also "Empty Faces" includes some references to 80's thrash with some well integrated mosh parts.

What's new on "Mass Confusion" is a confusing song. "Exit" is the very first Dust Bolt track that can be seen as a pure ballad. To my surprise the song does a pretty good job on the album since it enriches the variation and marks a well done break. Lenny is singing isntead of screaming and he actually does a pretty good job. While some other ballads drown in cliches, this one really rocks. There might be better ones, but this brave step of Dust Bolt demands all respect.

All in all Dust Bolt uses almost the entire playground offered by thrash/crossover and packaged it to a release that might not be totally mind-blowing, but it is solid and a true energizer that.





  1. Sick X Brain
  2. Mass Confusion
  3. Allergy
  4. Turned to Grey
  5. Blind to Art
  6. Mind the Gap
  7. Exit
  8. Empty Faces
  9. Taking Your Last Breath
  10. Portraits of Decay
  11. Masters of War


Label: Napalm Records

Genre: Thrash Metal

Release Date EU: July 8th, 2016

CD review DUST BOLT "Mass Confusion"