Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review SUNSTORM "Edge of Tomorrow"

Veröffentlicht am 4. Mai 2016 von Markus W. in Sunstorm, News, CD Review, Joe Lynn Turner, Hardrock, Melodic Metal, AOR

(8/10) Fans of melodic hardrock will enjoy the feast of a new Sunstorm album that hits you in spring. Joe Lynn Turner and friends will release the fourth longplayer of this AOR outfit, an album that features eleven melodic rock songs that are done really well.

The debut was published in 2006 and we could say that Sunstorm celebrates their ten year anniversary. It's nice to see that there is a certain consistency, since there was a risk that Sunstorm stays on a project level, coming together for one album. But to be honest, the continuity is mainly the sound and Turner's vocals, since the rest of the band is a completely different one than the ones that started a decade ago. Next to the singer with the great voice it's 'Mr. Everywhere' Alessandro Del Vecchio that does the keyboards, accompanied by Simone Mularoni, Nik Mazzucconi and Francesco Jovino.

The songs on "Edge of Tomorrow" are mainly written by Del Vecchio and all of them bear the hallmarks of the producer and keyboarder. Catchy melodies are the main characteristic of this release. Fortunately Mularoni was part of the songwriting process as well which led to a balanced mix of keyboards and guitars. Things didn't get too cheesy on "Edge of Tomorrow". "Heart of the Storm" is actually on of the pretty heavy tracks that educe even some short screams from Turner. For me, this is one of the best tracks on this new Sunstorm album.

"The Sound of Goodbye" is next and it feels like the heavy moments in the earlier song brought the guys to the intention for writing a more mainstream number. "The Sound of Goodbye" isn't a bad one, but it's more streamlined and has a lot of AOR moments. I personally like the harder moments, although I have to say that Turner's voice makes the also softer tunes to good rock songs too.

In the end it's smashers like "You Hold me Down" and the mentioned "Heart of the Storm" that drives the album, which is, in its totality, an entertaining record. It fits perfectly into the upcoming spring/summer and it makes fun from beginning to end.





  1. Don't Walk Away From a Goodbye
  2. Edge of Tomorrow
  3. Nothing Left to Say
  4. Heart of the Storm
  5. The Sound of Goodbye
  6. The Darkness of this Dawn
  7. You Hold me Down
  8. Angel Eyes
  9. Everything You've Got
  10. Tangled in Blue
  11. Burning Fire


Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Melodic Metal

Release Date EU: May 15th, 2016



CD review SUNSTORM "Edge of Tomorrow"