Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review PAUL GILBERT "I Can Destroy"

Veröffentlicht am 28. Mai 2016 von Markus W. in Paul Gilbert, News, CD Review, Rock, Hardrock, Classic Rock, Rock'n'Roll

(8/10) First thing that stands out with this album is the really cool artwork. What came to my mind was 'electric guitar land'. Ok, that's the first impression and packaging isn't unimportant, but when we talk about Paul Gilbert it is purely music that counts.

Fortunately the Mr. Big guitarist recorded songs for "I Can Destroy" that are all on a high level, tunes that can easily compete with the artwork. Again, we are talking about Paul Gilbert, a guitarist that is beyond any doubt.

I mentioned already Mr. Big, but the six-stringer was a crucial part of the fantastic Racer X too, whose "Street Lethal" release still belogs to my faves in guitar based metal music. But actually it's the solo albums of Gilbert that showed all his virtuosity and creativity.

Two years after he published "Stone Pushing Uphill Man" it's "I Can Destroy" that is the next treat for your ears.

The start is called "Everybody Use Your Goddamn Turn Signal, a cool swinging opener with a laid-back approach. The title track, "I Can Destroy" is next on the playlist. In general it's a hardrocker a la Kiss that speeds up in the middle, including a furious wild guitar solo.

"Knocking on a Kocked Door" can't come with anything else than a pumping rhythm. It's a good time rock'n'roll tune and I would say: Welcome to the 70's. A gently grooving song is called "One woman too many". It includes an intensive beat and a bluesy expression that reminds of Whitesnake. You can't stand still listening to this number that belongs to the best ones on the album.

Things get a bit more complex with "Woman Stop". It's a song that's harder to digest and it takes a while to get into this track, something that changes with "Gonna Make you Love Me, which is a pure rock'n'roller. Actually it's a danceable rock songs that reflects the 60's, in a modern outfit. This is no metal but ultra cool. Get your dancing shoes polished and here we go.

"I am Not the One" has cool intro with some a capella vocals; no new idea but still good. Gilbert's singing guitar follows and the tune becomes a fast rocker that is done very well.

"Blues Just Saving My Life", what else could it be than blues number. There are better blues tracks but Gilbert's guitar is what enriches this track that still has a lot of feel.

Is Sweet around? That's what you might think while listening to the catchy "Make It" while Mr. Big shimmers through at "Love We Had". Gilbert used the "To Be With You" formula and it still works.

"I Will be Remember", for sure since Paul Gilbert belongs to the best guitarists in rock these days. As this album proves, Gilbert has an enormous width of sounds and styles included in his guitar play. And he's a great songwriter too, a damn good combination that pays back on records like this one. With "Adventure and Trouble" we're getting closer towards the end of this longplayer. Actually it's the last track on the album that has with the Ted Nugent cover "Great White Buffalo" a bonus song, rounding off a well done album by a great guitarist. This album is containing real music that is ambitious and highly entertaining.





  1. Everybody Use Your Goddamn Turn Signal
  2. I Can Destroy
  3. Knocking On A Locked Door
  4. One Woman Too Many
  5. Woman Stop
  6. Gonna Make You Love Me
  7. I Am Not The One (Who Wants To Be With You)
  8. Blues Just Saving My Life
  9. Make It (If We Try)
  10. Love We Had
  11. I Will Be Remembered
  12. Adventure And Trouble
  13. Great White Buffalo (Bonus Track)


Label: earMUSIC

Genre: Hardrock

Release Date EU: May 27th, 2016

CD review PAUL GILBERT "I Can Destroy"
CD review PAUL GILBERT "I Can Destroy"